We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, atmospheric” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Parvis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Parvis to your Saves list
Le Parvis
13 place de la Cathedrale | 5, Rue du Cheval Blanc, 28000 Chartres, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Chartres B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unique, atmospheric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

There is not much to compare this unique place to. It simply drips story and atmosphere. Set above a restaurant, the rooms are old and awkwardly set out, but with all the comforts one would need. The room was clean, though a little small, but the furnishings were, I am sure, fascinating, genuine antique. Best of all, though, the door opened out directly onto the Cathedral forecourt. You could not have been closer to the action. The breakfast served in the restaurant was excellent with great coffee and plenty of what comes with every good French breakfast. On one of the nights we were there, a jazz band played in the cellar, three floors below us. Wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    32
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
81
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, IL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is not easy to find get directions or use your GPS. All of the streets are one way so you have to take exactly the correct street in the right direction or you will have to start over. It offers free parking and a good breakfast. It is right next to the Cathedral. The place is a little quirky. The rooms are clean and quiet. The decoration of the hotel and rooms is interesting, not to my taste but creative. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quirky and interesting. I would look at the website and decide on a room based...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were met by the friendly staff, who directed us to the parking (about 3 minutes walk away, but free). We were then shown the room. We had the "Louis" room. This suite takes up the full width of the building, having a small sitting room with views of the Cathedral, a corridor, off which is a shower-room, and then the bedroom, which overlooks Cardinal Pie st and its medieval buildings. The bed and sitting rooms are beautifully panelled, and they have the usual amenities, but also, hidden behind some panelling, a small kitchen.

You could not get a better location in Chartres, as the cathedral is opposite, and the city just the other side of the cathedral garden from the hotel.

There is a small bar, and you can eat there, or in the cave-like cellars. On the friday night we stayed there was a jazz group, and whilst not generally a jazz fan, it made a good accompaniment to dinner. Dinner was good - not the finest food in France, but really very pleasant, and not overpriced. Breakfast, which is included, was a good mix of bread, croissants, yoghurt, cold meats and cheese, with coffee and orange juice.

To sum up, this is a lovely small hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terra Cotta Ontario canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We had only two days: location was incredible, service incomparable and nowhere have we found such good value. It is quirky in decor, perhaps not to everyone's taste, but we found it a highlight of a great trip! Also the directions on the website to get to the front door, invaluable!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We found it to be a small, family run hotel & the owners were very helpful with a problem we had. We loved the situation in the old town & the cathedral so close we could almost touch it! Loads of atmosphere with each bedroom having its own personality; the weekend jazz nights being an added bonus. We also chose to eat at the hotel in the evenings, finding their Plat de Jour offers to be tasty & reasonably priced. Raymond & Penelope Abou-Jaoude.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The best location in Chartres, right opposite the Cathedral. Friendly, helpful welcome, great room at the top of the building. Bathroom with mood enhancing lighting and spa. Good bed, good views, good food. You couldn't want more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is small & very inviting & right next to the cathedral. The inn owner/manager could not have been more helpful. Made us feel right at home. Room was well appointed, clean, & unique. Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Parvis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parvis

Address: 13 place de la Cathedrale | 5, Rue du Cheval Blanc, 28000 Chartres, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Chartres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parvis offers you an accomodation in Bed and Breakfast straight in front of the Cathedral, in the very historical heart of the city. Our bedrooms are equipped with every element essential to your comfort.Their charm and the top-quality service provided have been ackowledged by all our guests.Come and discover our unique Bed and Breakfast !Bed and Breakfast, charming roomsTop-quality accomodationRight down the CathedralUnobstructed view guaranted on the Royal portalYou can almost touch the cathedral from the window of your roomAir-conditionningBreakfast includedParking offered ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Parvis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Parvis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.