We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab! Just what the doctor ordered!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Georges - Brasserie Le Madrigal

Restaurant Le Georges - Brasserie Le Madrigal
22 rue des Epars, 28000 Chartres, France
02 37 18 15 15
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 131 Restaurants in Chartres
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rye, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fab! Just what the doctor ordered!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After a long, hard road up from the Dordogne, meeting bouchons and deviations along the way, we had been delayed by 90 minutes. We were tired and a little irritable. So it was by wonderful provenance that the tide washed us in through the doors of the restaurant of the Grand Monarque Hotel, Chartres on a Sunday evening.

The welcome was warm and professional, the restaurant large and spacious. Proper coverings on the table and linen napkins. Uniformed and informed staff. The posh but relaxed ambience, our meals, and the Bordeaux red that went with them were precisely what we needed: a good pampering. Delicious!

20 euros for a main course and the starter-level Bordeaux at 29 euros could be regarded as a little steep, but when walking the town afterwards, we saw that you could pay similar prices at considerably lesser establishments. And the price included service.

All-in-all, a great choice. Not the cheapest or the most expensive, but easily the best meal we've had in 10 days in France.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always a great joy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Having visited Le Georges several times, both whilst staying at the hotel and just for the evening, it has always been a fantastic experience. We have visited both as a couple, as a family with young kids, we the extended family and with friends. And we were never disappointed. If you bring children, they have the opportunity to get almost what they want, you just ask for it. Our son asked to go there for lunch for his 6th birthday ad LOVED it as always.
We are defiantly coming back every time we visit Chartres, we LOVE the food, the ambiance, the surroundings and the attentive staff!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
662 reviews 662 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 241 cities Reviews in 241 cities
555 helpful votes 555 helpful votes
“Four and a half stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was the only restaurant of the top 3 Trip Advisor selections open on Mondays. We were the first guests of the evening, but the restaurant was 90% full before we left. We saw no evidence of service problems cited by other reviewers. Menus were available in English and French, and perhaps other languages too. Staff name-tags indicate the languages they speak. Table assignments were made accordingly. The menu is up-scale with prices consummate with quality. Everything we ordered was good to outstanding. I am wary of French wines that I do not know, having been burnt so often. We had the St. Emilion, which was excellent and reasonably priced. As for the food, my green gaspacho soup was as good as the best I have ever tasted - thanks to the strong flavor of fresh peas. My wife had the filled zucchini blossom which was outstanding. We each had the tournedos of veal and loved them, hers done as recommended and mine quite rare. The tops were charred deep and crispy, yet the centers were rare and juicy. Again excellent. For dessert, we both had the macrons au chocolat which each thought good. However, my wife felt the presentation was not up to the dish and the level of excellence of the restaurant. I had not considered that, but must agree. There were other small failings. Each table had a plastic glass with an battery operated candle. A lamp shade had a burn mark from the bulb and each table had a cheap-looking runner. The staff often did not pay close enough attention to the clientele. When it came time to pay, we had to actively get their attention. Still they were prompt. Yes, picky, but this is a restaurant that attempts great things.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Maybe we were unlucky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Plus for ambience and good service (in English), but food subpar. The three main courses out of seven dishes of the menu degustation did not live up to our expectations and the establishment's high standards otherwise. We only visited once so maybe this was just some kind of accident.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect food and almost perfect service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Supberb cooking, well worth a Michelin star! So much better than ivan gautier in Caen. Food was exquisite - the triage of variation on the theme of radish was noteworthy, as was the souffle. The only minor criticism is that the sommelier was not quite as observant as he could have been.
Excellent value - well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Georges - Brasserie Le Madrigal also viewed

 
Chartres, Loire Valley
Chartres, Loire Valley
 

Been to Restaurant Le Georges - Brasserie Le Madrigal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Georges - Brasserie Le Madrigal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.