We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chambord Annex” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurant du Grand Saint-Michel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Restaurant du Grand Saint-Michel to your Saves list
Hotel-Restaurant du Grand Saint-Michel
Place Saint-Louis, 41250 Chambord, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chambord
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Chambord Annex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel is right next to Chateau on what must be original grounds. Great view of Chateau. Chambord is really not a typical village There are a few souvenir shops that close around 6pm and the hotel. Staying at the hotel makes walking the Chateau grounds after all the tourists leave a delightful experience. At sunset and dawn the light on the Chateau is awesome. I went out late and took night pictures of lit Chateau. Hotel rooms were a bit tired but clean and spacious. The hotel restaurant was very good. The cozy bar was a nice place to relax after visiting the Chateau. If the weather is accommodating the hotel has outside seating for drinks and food service with a spectacular view.







stayig

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    84
    48
    25
    12
See reviews for
56
107
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is an old syle (early 20th century) resort hotel. It's kind of interesting as an historic study. We enjoyed our stay here, although in honesty, we only stayed here because it started raining and we were on bikes. The staff are very pleasant. The room we stayed in was very very large and had a good view of the chateau (for 100 euros). The food in the restaurant was surprisingly good. All in all I had a fun time, although the hotel shows its age and lack of maintenance or renovation funds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Can't believe how close you are to the Chateau! Be sure to take the tour and visit the grounds!
Amazing views-ask for a room that looks out at the Chateau-lots of activity, but not noisy and the chateau is lit at night.
The hotel is basic and a wee bit dated but nice. No A/C but it wasn't too warm - maybe they offer fans in the summer. Lovely meals at the hotel restaurant. Nice library nook off the front lobby-only spot to get internet and it may be sketchy.
There are a few vendors just outside the hotel - offering anything from postcards to cheese to Land Rover tours of the forest.
Glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in September 2013, after careful consideration afterbreading some of the previous reviews. We found it to be comfortable and pleasant. Not a glamorous place, but so close to Chambord Castle, it e great to relax here after visiting the castle, riding bikes in the forest and walking the grounds. It is a bit dated, but if you want a convenient location, you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the castle. Mind you they will charge extra for these rooms when you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel, for all its genuine charm how could you not. It's an old guest house in the grounds of an older castle. The breakfast, team and atmosphere was second to none and we were traveling with three small children under eight including an 18 month old baby. Do yourself a Favour and visit this hotel. Of course that is if you like old vs modern.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights in August 2012. It is the perfect operating base for exploring the eastern side of the Loire valley, but most of all: one of the most beautiful castles of the Loire, Chambord, is at exactly 200 meters from the hotel's very front door. Our room was in the left corner of the first floor and had a breathtaking view.

The Grand St. Michel is in a quiet location in the middle of the 13,000 acre castle domain, far away from the main roads and all the traffic. In the early evening, when the tourist crowds had disappeared, the whole place went totally quiet and we felt kind of privileged to stay there while all the day tourists were leaving, and spend the night in that beautiful place. In the morning we woke up to nothing but the singing of the birds.

The hotel's restaurant is excellent and not quite expensive. The weather was also great so we had dinner (choice between different menus) and breakfast (buffet) outside on the terrace every day - again with this incredible view at the castle.

If you are looking for a unique and affordable place to stay in the Blois-Cheverny-Beaugency region, book a room with a view in the Grand St. Michel. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with 'castle view'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have never written a negative report about any hotel or restaurant on this site before as I am aware that they can have negative outcomes for bussiness and staff but I must make an exception re: this hotel.
The good news is it's like a coin - it has two sides.
The receptionist and the restaurant were very good.
However in relation to the hotel everything the previous few writers said about it is is true. The rooms were shabby. We had no curtains on the windows and the window frames were in dreadful order - any poor person passing by and seeing me in a state of undress would have been justified in making an immediate complaint to the management.
The bed mattress was of very poor quality and those corridors - one writer refers to them been really scarey - inaccurate, they were really, really scarey. We had booked a number of nights but we left early.
The site itself - the chateau grounds were fantastic but that does not make up for the standard of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chambord hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Restaurant du Grand Saint-Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant du Grand Saint-Michel

Address: Place Saint-Louis, 41250 Chambord, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Chambord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chambord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant du Grand Saint-Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand St Michel
Grand St Michel Chambord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurant du Grand Saint-Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.