We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop in Bourges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedrale St-Etienne

Cathedrale St-Etienne
Place Etienne-Dolet, Bourges, France
02-48-65-72-89
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Bourges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Wailea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A must stop in Bourges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I hate to say that this, in our mind, was equal or more enjoyable than Notre Dame in Paris. We went on a Sunday and the place was very quiet. Easy parking.
We did not do the crypt tour since it was all in French. We climbed up to the top for a small fee and it was well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    94
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful and awe inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful cathedral -- fabulous stained glass windows and incredibly ornate architecture. Unmissable if you're in the area of Bourges.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on thames
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Cathedral, just don't put only thing down or it will get nicked!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Popped into Bourges on the way to Limoges, it's a nice town, quiet clean and the Cathedral is imposing and magnificent....but I put my hat and Umbrella down on the chair to take photos INSIDE the Catherdral and some nice French person stole them! I can't imagine anything like that happening in England....perhaps I'm being naive but It's taken the edge off a very pleasant stay....so I recommend it, just don't put anything down!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Icon of Bourges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This truly is a magnificent building with a history to go with it, and you can visit inside and the crypt if in Bourges this is a must!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Can Be Seen For Miles.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We took a day trip from Orleans to Bourges. For miles before the center of town you can see the cathedral. We went in mid March so the garden was not in bloom but the cathedral was huge and amazing. We went on a Tuesday and hardly anyone was there. Over the front entrance where all the step are were some crazy carvings along the wall above the doors. All and all it was a nice day trip from Orleans.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedrale St-Etienne also viewed

 

Been to Cathedrale St-Etienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedrale St-Etienne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.