We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid place to stay on the road - but nothing special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Christina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Christina to your Saves list
Le Christina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue de la Halle, 18000 Bourges, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Bourges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Solid place to stay on the road - but nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Very clean, nice breakfast (8 Euro), good beds. While it maps as close to the cathedral, note that the walk is completely uphill from the hotel to the main square ... so we drove it.

A good place to stay for one night when passing thru, but wouldn't recommend as your long term stay hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    111
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
103
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We paid just 65 Euro. The hotel has been renovated, the rooms are perfect, good size, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, separate toilet. Very quiet. 5 minutes walk from the palace, and 10 minutes from Cathedral (which has probably the most beautiful stained glass in France), 10 min walk from the railway station.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed here in May 2011 on a road trip through France. The room was clean & comfortable but our major concern was the toilet in the room. It was so small that it was impossible to sit down & close the door - we are both only 165cm - heaven help anyone taller.
A complaint to reception was met with typical Gallic indifference - no apology & not even an offer of another room.
How any hotel could expect this level of accommodation as suitable is beyond belief. It is beyond personal dignity to expect guests to endure this.
The location was convenient & within walking distance of the Saturday markets - most other needs were also within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

My wife and I arrived for a 2 day stay. We met a gentleman ( who was later identified as the owner) at reception. We smiled and politely asked for our room. He glared at us and barked " Wait your turn!" shaking his head in an irritated manner.The other member of staff on reception had the decency to look horrified.. We left immediately and found great alternative accomodation nearby. Upon sharing this story with a friend from the area, he informed us that it is in fact a fine hotel (the good reviews being the reason why we had decided on the place) but well known for having thouroughly unpleasant staff. You have been warned..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTCHRISTINA, Propriétaire at Le Christina, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Sir!

The opinion of the clients who stay in our Hotel is really important to me: thus I want to answer to your comment that I have just read on this website.

First of all, I deeply regret for the experience you had when you arrived so as to book a room. It seems you didn’t receive the warmest of welcomes.
I am the Hotel Manager and sincerely, I have no recollection of the facts you pointed out. Moreover, you precise that I was standing at the hotel Reception desk at that moment, but I do not understand how you can have recognized me since we do not know each other.
As you may have noticed after reading the other comments about us on this website, I do not hesitate to answer when clients emphasize bad experience (only one except yours). But honestly, regarding you arrival by us, I think I am not the person who made your check-in.
Of course, it is not an excuse to what happened. I want to let you know that, at my command, all of our Staff has read your comment so as that it enables to improve our welcoming services. Besides, we question regularly our customers thanks to surveys (at their disposal in the rooms). It is quite a good way to consider problems fast (if there are some of course) and to bear it in mind. Our hotel is a human-sized family firm in which we make our best to give satisfaction in terms of welcoming and products: that is why your point of view touched each of us.
Knowing that you have friends in our Region, you will probably have the opportunity to come back to Bourges and I hope that you will book a room in our Hotel. Indeed, I would be grateful to discuss with you about your first experience and, hopefully, you will leave us with a better opinion.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon,
Yours faithfully,

The Hotel Manager,
Jean-Michel DEVENAS


REPONSE EN FRANCAIS


Monsieur,


L’avis des clients qui séjournent dans notre établissement est très important pour moi, aussi je souhaite répondre à votre commentaire dont je viens de prendre connaissance.

En premier lieu, je suis désolé pour l’expérience qui fût la vôtre lorsque vous avez souhaité réserver une chambre dans notre hôtel. Il semble en effet que l’accueil qui vous a été fait n’ait pas été des plus chaleureux
Je suis le Directeur de l’hôtel et sincèrement, je n’ai aucun souvenir des faits que vous relatez dans votre avis. Par ailleurs, vous précisez que vous avez pu déterminer que j’étais la personne qui vous accueilli, mais je ne sais sur quelle base vous avez pu le faire alors que nous ne nous connaissons pas personnellement.
Ainsi que vous avez pu le constater en lisant les autres commentaires de ce site, je n’hésite pas à répondre lorsque je dois rendre compte d’expériences difficiles (une seule en dehors de la vôtre). Mais honnêtement, dans votre cas, je ne crois pas être celui qui vous a accueilli.
Ceci n’excuse pas les faits que vous énumérez pour autant et je tiens à vous faire savoir que, à ma demande, tout notre personnel a lu votre commentaire afin qu’il serve à améliorer notre accueil. De plus, dans cette optique, nous interrogeons tout au long de l’année nos clients à travers un questionnaire accessible dans les chambres. Cela nous permet de mesurer rapidement le moindre dérapage qui viendrait à se présenter et d’y remédier. Notre hôtel est une entreprise à taille humaine dans laquelle chacun s’implique à donner le meilleur en termes de satisfaction clientèle et de produits : c’est d’ailleurs pourquoi votre avis nous touche tous.
Puisque vous comptez des amis dans notre Région, vous aurez certainement l’occasion de revenir passer quelques jours à Bourges et j’espère que vous réserverez une chambre dans notre établissement. En effet, je serai ravi que nous discutions de votre première expérience dans l’espoir que, peut-être, vous repartirez avec une meilleure opinion.

Dans l’attente de vos nouvelles, veuillez agréer, Monsieur, nos sincères salutations.

Le Directeur,
Jean-Michel DEVENAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights whilst we were house hunting in the area. It's situated in a lovely cobbled street within very easy walking to the centre of town. We booked an executive room which was larger than the standard one. It was well equipped and decorated.

The hotel does not have a restaurant but there is a wide variety of eating places nearby. Breakfast is from 06.30 to 10.30 which allows for the early start and the lie-in! The staff were happy to help with any queries. Parking is free on the street outside. It's best to come back at the end of the day if you want a spot close to the hotel as it is busy during the day.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stopped here on the way home from a holiday in the south of France. The hotel is located in a quiet cobbled street a short distance from the historic centre of Bourges. Our family room (2 double beds) was tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, quiet, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were friendly and efficient. Le Christina is a great alternative to the out of town chain hotels at a similar price. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

A town centre hotel in walking distance of the sights.
It is clean ,modern and comfortable. Breakfast was OK but a little busy as many of the guests wished to eat at the same time. Would I rebook ? yes!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Christina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Christina

Address: 5 rue de la Halle, 18000 Bourges, France
Location: France > Centre > Berry > Cher > Bourges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bourges
#4 Business Hotel in Bourges
#4 Family Hotel in Bourges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Christina 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Christina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Christina Bourges
Le Christina Hotel Bourges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Christina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.