We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Bourbonnoux

Restaurant Le Bourbonnoux
44 Rue Bourbonnoux, 18000 Bourges, France
+33 (0)2 48 24 14 76
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 153 Restaurants in Bourges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

On the plus side, the quality of most of the food was very good. Initially I was a little disappointed, as the starter I wanted was not available. However the replacement was both elegant and very tasty. My main course was a fairly average fish dish - merlan, which I believe is whiting - a rather dull fish to be served in a good quality restaurant. I thought that some of the other mains, which other diners were having, looked a better bet The dessert was, however, excellent, and made up for the shortcomings of the main. Service was quite slow, which is not a problem unless you are on a tight schedule. My 3 star rating is possibly a little harsh, but is largely based on the main course I had.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    50
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We chose the € 25 menu and got 3 great and one reasonable dish. Nice appetizers were complementary and with coffee came delicious little sweets. Wine was reasonalby priced. We were lucky to get a table: reservation recommended!. Staff was not very friendly to us, locals were treated with more warmth.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Set in the medieval Rue Bourbonnoux in the city of Bourges this is a charming family run restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

A good quality 30 cover restaurant serving excellent quality , well cooked food with good local ingredients. A good wine list with local Loire specialities. It was full on a July Saturday so bookings recommended

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

A good value restaurant with a mixed menue at reasonable prices. We had a very nice meal, the only issue is that the first courses are just food put on a plate with no creativity. However, the main course, the cheese and the pudding are nice and a good standard.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Excellent French Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Good value and excellent food. Small restaurant. The lobster soup was our favorite entree(appetizer) and the rabbit main dish was fabulous. The chocolate cake was a little disappointing, Service was excellent. and value was excellent. We would definitely return and recommend it highly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Bourbonnoux also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Le Bourbonnoux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Bourbonnoux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.