We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming mill house and charming hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Moulin des Charmes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blois
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Moulin des Charmes
Save
You added Le Moulin des Charmes to your Saves list
2 Chemin du Gue Taureau | Moulineuf, 41190 Blois, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Blois B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“charming mill house and charming hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed at Moulin des Charmes for three nights and our stay was one of the highlights of our time in France. Noel and Marina, our hosts, are two of the most charming people you could meet. Dinner prepared by Marina (you need to arrange this when you book) was certainly a highlight, the food was delicious, wine was well chosen to compliment the food and the conversation robust and stimulating. Breakfasts were also excellent, with eggs from the hens roaming in the garden cooked to your choice. Our room was beautifully decorated with an enormous bed - extremely comfortable. Molineuf is about 6km from Blois and we found it a good base for exploring this part of the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
62
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We (2 couples) stayed at Marina & Noel's beautiful estate for 2 nights at June 2010.
The house (800 years old!) is very roomy and welcoming and the garden by the river is amazing.
Marina and Noel (both fluent in English and French) are a lovely couple and it was a pleasure staying as their guests.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We have stayed here twice in 2009 and once so far in 2010 with plans to return in August.
The owners Noel and Marina are the perfect hosts, they have run Hotels and Bed and Breakfast properties in the UK, Canada and this is their third time in France. (They only moved in during May 2009 and Noel has upgraded three rooms since then)
The atmosphere is warm and friendly; there are acres of land to explore with rivers running around all sides of the property. Fantastic photographic opportunities abound.

Noel and Marina treat guests as friends and very quickly you will feel you have known them forever, Noel is an English gentlemen who speaks competent French and Marina is French but speaks perfect English, the 2 Labrador dogs, Jimmy and Roxy, seem to understand both languages as well.

The accommodation is of a high standard whilst still retaining some of the original and quirky features of the mill with some beautiful furniture, there is free wifi for those who cannot live without the outside world, but frankly you would have try very hard not to relax here. Upstairs they have a guest lounge with French or English television plus a huge Billiard/Library room.
The original Mill workings are still in place although the actual water wheel has almost disappeared.

In the village there is a large bar opposite the Mill and a very nice, but expensive restaurant in the village called “Restaurant de la Poste”, plus Blois is only about 15 minutes away.

Finally checkout the excellent website at http://www.moulins4u.com/

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Moulin des Charmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin des Charmes

Address: 2 Chemin du Gue Taureau | Moulineuf, 41190 Blois, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Blois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast and rental accommodation in Blois near Amboise in the Loire Valley. It will be our pleasure to welcome you for a holiday or a weekend B&B break in Molineuf, between Blois and Amboise near the chateaux of the Loire Valley. Le Moulin des Charmes is a converted manor house with mill providing accommodation. We offer luxury accommodation on a bed and breakfast or bed, breakfast and dinner basis near the picturesque towns of Blois and Amboise in the Loire Valley. We also have a self catering rental cottage. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Moulin des Charmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.