We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typically French” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais des Templiers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Relais des Templiers to your Saves list
Le Relais des Templiers
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Rue du Pont, 45190 Beaugency, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Beaugency
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Typically French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night only at this delightful typically French hotel as a stopover on our way to Domme in the Dordogne. It's roughly half way so ideal for this. In a way that could work against the hotel which is a big shame as it's a lovely town and deserves to be seen as more than a stopover point. There is very little to fault with the hotel or the town. The hotel room was a little on the small side but we've stayed in much smaller. No air con but this wasn't a problem for us as it wasn't hot enough to be an issue. Our room looked out onto the top end of the street which was a nice view and still quiet. It was a great place to sit with a glass of red late in the evening watching people make their way home. Breakfast was excellent, the wi-was spot on and the host was pleasant and helpful. The town itself has a lot to offer with plenty of bars and eateries. Seemed to have more than its fair share of hairdressers as well which was strange!
I've just noticed that I've only given the hotel a four. After reading this back I think I'll go back and give it a five.
Highly recommended. We definitely intend going back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Neath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in mid September with friends.The owners were very friendly and helpful,and the rooms were french style but very clean and comfortable.The hotel is ideally located in the middle of the town and a very pretty location, ideal for the many lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel has been in business for hundreds of years, located in the centre of the old town. The staff are friendly and welcoming, there's a garage for bicycles and they also rent bicycles. We had the breakfast in the morning which was substantial but not extraordinary. Handy to the Loire a Velo bike trail.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here 6 nights when golfing in the Loire area. This is a typical 2 star French hotel, well located in the middle of town. The owners are fantastic - very friendly and booked us into recommended restaurants in town. Even brought out sparkling wine and a party with the family on our last night. Doesn't have its own restaurant but does a good breakfast. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was the first night of a long drive south to Spain and I could not have chosen a better location. A very pretty village with a wonderful view of the canal and it's flowers right outside the room. Very quiet but some wonderful walks along the Loire if you have time. Above all, it was reasonably priced - and being mean that is why I chose it in the first place. Stay here!

Room Tip: I had 226 but aywhere facing the canal should be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Set in the centre of pretty, historical Beaugency, the hotel was perfect for our first night in France, to break up that long drive South. We had the family attic room that comfortably slept 2 adults and 2 children.
Helpful, friendly owners, clean rooms and amazing breakfast (all agreed best croissants of the holiday) for an excellent rate. We were able to park very close to the hotel and it was only a short walk towards the river to the many restaurants in the town. (We recommend the Italian facing the bridge for everything from pizzas to very French salads) It was so good, we booked it for our return journey and will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We found Beaugency when looking for somewhere to stop overnight on our journey back from the Auvergne to the Channel Ports. It's perfectly located on the Loire, about fifteen minutes west of Orleans and about four hours from Calais (with a good run through Paris).

The town is delightful and full of historic interest. The hotel is friendly and welcoming. Our room wasn't huge - particularly the rather crowded bathroom - but the downstairs rooms are pleasant and we enjoyed our stay and would happily return. On-street parking was possible just a few metres from the door. On the same street is the superb restaurant Le Petit Bateau - don't miss it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Relais des Templiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais des Templiers

Address: 68 Rue du Pont, 45190 Beaugency, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loiret > Beaugency
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Beaugency
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Relais des Templiers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Relais des Templiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais des Templiers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.