We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Biencourt

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Biencourt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Biencourt
7 rue Balzac, 37190 Azay-le-Rideau, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Azay-le-Rideau
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Romantic and very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is very special, given the price. It is - as far as the atmosphere is concerned - more comparable to a large B&B rather than a hotel. It is very well located in an very quiet street with no traffic next to the beautiful castle of Azay-le-Rideau. It is located in an ancient school from the Napoleon III period and was very nicely restored. We stayed in a room under the roof and was very romantic. Bathroom is small but very modern with super shower. The hotel is very clean and the welcoming was very friendly. Breakfast was very simple but correct to our opinion (we are no big breakfasters).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    34
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
84
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a nicely positioned hotel right in the centre of Azay-Le-Rideau and conveniently placed for the chateau and local restaurants. The only concern I had when booking the hotel was the car parking as you have to use the town car parks (free) and these are obviously not secure or in sight. It all worked out fine though and the hotel had a pleasant feel to it. We have stayed in better equipped larger rooms but it was clean and the shower was an absolute joy (very up to date). It had everything necessary for a pleasant stay although I do wish that more French hotels would provide tea/coffee facilitites in their rooms.

We did have the breakfast on the two mornings we were there although I did think it was expensive. Plenty of choice though and pleased in the end that we did.

Would stay again if we were in the area and ready to pick up more wine or visit more chateaus.

Room Tip: Rooms are varied in size and position (we went for cheaper option in attic space) so maybe if budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is super convenient. The hosts are absolutely terrific. The croissants and tea/coffee to welcome you are wonderful. It is located on a quiet cobblestone street. We had a lovely room. But a heads up, if you are tall, the upper rooms have slanted ceilings. Please watch your head. The pictures are accurate and representative. You may want to request a first floor room if you do not want to bump your head. Breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices. The chateau is literally so close you feel as if you are on the grounds.

Room Tip: Tall people should choose the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent three nights at this gem. The hosts at Hotel de Biencourt were supurb. So helpful and kind, we had a very warm welcome and farewell from them. Our room was excellent in presentation and comfort. It was situated near the tranquil courtyard which was a terrific place to sit and enjoy a drink and snack. The location of the hotel is so cental and free carparking less than 100m away was a plus. Truly a wonderful boutique hotel and great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Lovely small hotel right in the centre of Azay-le-Rideau. Only 2 mins walk from the Chateau and close to all the bars and restaurants. Unfortunately we had a very small twin room, but that did not detract from the charm of the place. Breakfast is buffet style but also very good. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the middle of Azay le Rideau. We had a spacious & clean family room with a well appointed bathroom. The staff were very friendly & courteous. There is a lovely sunny courtyard where you an relax & enjoy drinks provided by the hotel. The beautiful chateau is 2 mins walk away and restaurants, bars and shops are within easy reach. We will be returning to Azay and, when we do, will be booking ourselves in to this delightful hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here en route to Spain to break up our journey but it proved to be deserving of more attention than we could give it. It's just a short stroll from the chateau at Azey where we spent a lovely evening visit (fun and interactive for the kids) after a mediocre dinner in the town. The hotel suite (double bed and twin beds for our children) was nicely finished and comfortable. The breakfast - in the beautiful small garden - was really good. Overall very good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Biencourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Biencourt

Address: 7 rue Balzac, 37190 Azay-le-Rideau, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Azay-le-Rideau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Azay-le-Rideau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated charming hotel very close to the castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Biencourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Biencourt Azay Le Rideau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Biencourt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.