We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE HOTEL, GOOD LOCATION & GOOD FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Monarque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Grand Monarque to your Saves list
Le Grand Monarque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue du Chateau, 37190 Azay-le-Rideau, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Azay-le-Rideau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. John, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“VERY NICE HOTEL, GOOD LOCATION & GOOD FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our visit for 2 nights was very much at the end of the season & the hotel was quiet. On arrival it has a classy feel and we were made welcome by the friendly, helpful reception staff. Our room was large, comfortable, clean, delightfully in keeping with the history of the rest of the building, and our only criticism was that there could have been better lighting in a room with lovely rustic old windows. Dinner was in a large dining room which was quiet given the time of year, and our meal of rabbit & guineafoul was absolutely excellent, with 'wow' factor flavours often missing in much posher restaurants. However on the second night we found that the somewhat restricted menu had not changed, no doubt due to the quiet time of year, so we reluctantly ate elsewhere. Breakfast was well above average, with ample supplies of everything despite the small clientele.

The location is really good, in the centre of this delightful town, a short walk to the famous Azay-le-Rideau chateau, and convenient for driving to other Chateaux & sights. Private parking is available. All in all this is a highly desirable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    60
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
100
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

An 18 century Post House in the lovely town of Azay-le-Rideau. Excellent location in the heart of town. Our spacious room had all the comforts. Queen bed was quite comfortable. Modern bathroom with nice toiletries. Breakfast a bit pricey and not very tasty. Restaurant with limited choices. Staff, very attentive. Private parking on site, quite reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a cute little town, where the main attraction is the chateau.

This hotel looks very pretty from the outside, it has a beautiful courtyard, and nice lobby. Our room was on the third floor, and maybe the decor is a bit out of date up there, but it was still very clean and airy. We had a large room, but the furniture was a bit worn and mismatched a bit.

The wifi did not work in our room, and the staff worked very hard to get it working for us.

The breakfast was really good, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. They had a nice place for us to keep our bikes. The staff was very nice and always tried to be helpful.

I would stay there again if I came by this area in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is a haven of calm relaxation and quality, perfectly placed over looking the town and close to the main car park. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, our room was clean, comfortable and well appointed.
A Quality experience in a divine location, walking distance to the famous chateau and all town amenities.
Well worth a visit and good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel for two nights in July. The staff were really pleasant and helpful.They gave us plenty of information and advise and showed us to our room, even helping with the bags.We were given a full run down on room facilities and controls.
Dinner served outside in the courtyard was very good as was the service.
Breakfast was average hotel fare.
We found the whole place to be clean and well maintained and good value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Lovely hotel with exceptional service. We booked only a day or 2 ahead for an overnight stay on the way to Le Havre. The man on reception was charming and very helpful, telling us about the local area and carrying our bags to the top floor room. The room was a family attic room, really clean and comfortable, with a fabulous ( possibly brand new ) bathroom. They provided secure parking for our car and trailer. The added bonus was the outstanding dinner served outside in the courtyard. The food was sublime and the waitress advised us on which wines to choose for each course - the service was amazing. Thanks for a lovely end to our holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in late June and had a fabulous time in the Loire. The room was very nice and clean. We didn't feel the price was justified in light of the lack of any sort of spark or enthusiasm from the staff. The bar was dead and lifeless, often had to sit and wait...sometimes being the only ones there...for someone to come and see us or offer us a drink.... the restaurant we avoided as we had seen previous reviews...although did have breakfast which was included in the room price ....that was fairly average....apart from this we didn't have a bad experience...someone just needs to liven up the place a bit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Monarque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Monarque

Address: 1 Rue du Chateau, 37190 Azay-le-Rideau, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Azay-le-Rideau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Azay-le-Rideau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Monarque 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Grand Monarque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Monarque Azay Rideau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Monarque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.