We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, if you have a car.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Avenue Emile Gounin, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Amboise
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great, if you have a car.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a very new hotel, clean, modern, excellent room and bathroom facilities, (though no view), quiet, ample electrical outlets, good wifi, a very friendly reception staff that speak excellent English. The breakfast was one of the best I had in France this time...had hot meats, tiny crepes, eggs, plus a good assortment of the usual breads, cheeses, cereals, yogurts. The coffee was very good. However, this hotel is a good mile out of the center of town, without much on the walk of any interest. No close restaurants. That said, they offer a fairly decent dinner to be brought to your room...I had the beef bourguignon that came with garlic green beans and a potato gratin, plus a lovely tarte tatin (apple tart) all for 14€! Plus a half bottle of local (and good) wine for 8€...i paid that much for a glass elsewhere. Quite a good dinner really, and after sightseeing all day in the Loire Valley, nice not to have to go out. The parking is ample and free on the hotel's grounds. A nice plus. I stayed two nights, as it was a reasonable price and a good location to explore the Loire Valley in both directions.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    126
    38
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
177
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked this hotel on booking.com 6 months before our travel date. I realized immediately afterward that they do not have the typical free cancelation policy of all the other hotels I had looked at. They charge 30% of room fees (for your entire reservation) no matter when you cancel. I emailed them right away assuming that they would make an exception to this because it was 1 day after I made the reservation and 6 MONTHS before the trip. They were totally unwilling to help me out. I'm just glad I had only booked 1 night!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinciamboise, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We allow answering your comment to bring precision for our next customers. In period of high season, we ask effectively for a 30 % deposit for confirmation. This amount is not refundable in case of cancellation.

However, In case of cancellation, we always propose to our customers, as commercial gesture to keep the paid deposit and use it for another stay in the year, at the date of their choices, according to availability, without any additional costs.

What was also proposed to you.

Further to your cancellation, we postponed once, at your request, your reservation dating the end of 2012, with the paid deposit; to the beginning of 2013, without any additional costs.
We effectively refused the second adjournment when you wanted to cancel again this reservation, for the second time.

We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay in the hotel to post your real opinion.

Best Regards,

Gyslaine Hardoin/Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013. The Hotel was very very quiet. In fact I think we were the only guests in the entire hotel for some of our stay.

Firstly, this hotel should not be classed as a 4 star, more of a mid range 3 star. The hotel is small enough but in a convenient location. We were upgraded on our room ( in fairness we were the only guests in the hotel at that stage I believe). The upgrade room was not very big but I think it was constrained by the existing structure of the billing.

The room suffered brown-outs any time anyone ( I’m assuming it was staff) used the lift. This is no water bottles in the rooms. Little to no condiments, ( all we could find is a broken nail file, a tub of handcream, and some showergel bolted to the shower wall). No slippers, no robes, no sewing kits, no razor……I mean literally nothing was there that you’d expect in a four star hotel.
The shower was shocking. The best way to describe t would be like a nozzle used in kitchen sinks, except the kitchen sink nozzle would probably be better.

The hair dryer was more like a hoover hose, bolted to the wall in the 1960’s.
The fridge has some “unique residue” in it. What it was I don’t know, and to be honest I don’t want to guess?

The internet is free but as mentioned previously it is a pain logging in and out all the time. Also the first time you log in they ask for tons of personal details, the only thing they don’t ask is your shoe size.

Also at 8.30 am every morning, there’s some banging noise, don’t know if they’re getting work done (I couldn’t see any) but it’s a convenient morning wake up call.
We didn’t eat here for breakfast as it was 13 euro each as its way to expense. A waffle or crepe down the village is 3 euro.

However, this hotel is in a great location in relation to the Loire Valley, easy access to main routes and its only 15 minutes’ walk to the main street. Amboise is a sleepy village, not a bad location but limited enough in choice of food and entertainment. Having a car in this region is essential.


If you’re just looking for a base to rest your head, this wouldn’t be the worse choice in the world. But just go with a reduced level of expectation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinciamboise, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We allow answering your comments to bring precision for our next customers

You stayed in the low season, effectively the hotel is more quiet at this time of year, what cannot be judged as a defect!

We wish to react to your remark concerning the level 4 stars of the hotel and we would like to bring you some precisions

Indeed, we inform you that this recent classification corresponds to the new hotel standards organized in July 2012.

These new standards are more flexible than previously and we fill all the characteristics to aspire to the level.

We are aware that certain hotels of the same level seem more luxurious, propose more services but you will notice that the prices are more raised. We did not change our prices since our passage in 4 stars.

We would like to underline that you paid your room 64.00 Euros per night and you have benefit of an upgrade in Superior room on arrival.

You had bottles of water at your disposal in the mini bar and one offered upon your arrival.


The free WiFi Internet connection passes by a hotspot software according to the law which imposes to hotels this kind of software of connection which indeed asks you for compulsory information of identification.

Once again, thank you for having taken time to have published your opinion. We are sensitive to your loyalty for our brand.

Sincerely,

Mrs HARDOIN/ Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Don't let the franchise name bother you if you're from the US. This is NOT your smalltown midrange old place, but a very nice, clean, comfortable lodging well appointed and located for touring the Loire. Room, appointments and breakfast were all very good, and the service by staff excellent! For the area, it is a good value, too. We particularly liked the location as the town was nearby by car, as was the highway to all this areas fascinating attractions.
Special thanks to a very friendly and helpful staff! You'll like it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Room was excellent other than the price. But it appears all hotels are on the pricey side here. Only drawback was distance from center city and local attractions and restaurants. It is walkable, but about 20 minutes at a good pace. Breakfast extra and fair

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We found this Best Western to far exceed any we had experienced in the US. The king sized bed was first class, the bath was sparkling clean with a terrific shower, luxury towels, and impressive decor. The breakfast was the best we ate in France with a variety of breads, cheeses, fresh and dried fruits, cereals, crepes, eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, and more. I can't imagine how anyone could beat the price. We had a perfect stay!

Room Tip: The distance to the city center is not walkable, but only takes a few minutes to drive. Parking is...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We used this hotel twice this August (2012) for one night stopovers on the way to and from the south west of France (Gironde region). It is a charming hotel with very kind, helpful and attentive staff. It is clean and comfortable. We read some reviews for the place before going and noted some comments saying how hot it was - we did find it hot but then the temperature was significantly high (30˚C+). They do their best given the age of the building and how the rooms are placed - e.g., some are in the roof. We also read about how the breakfast was considered expensive. We found that it was no more expensive than if staying in a comparable hotel in the UK and, what should be taken into consideration, is that the buffet is an 'all you can eat' one so we didn't go hungry! There was a good choice of continental style food and cooked items too. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to anyone needing a stop off place in this region.

Room Tip: It might be worth asking for a room not on the top floor (if it's summer time).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley

Address: 12 Avenue Emile Gounin, 37400 Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" In the heart of the Loire Valley castles, at only 1500 meters from Amboise royal castle and the « Château du Clos Lucé », the last house of Leonardo da Vinci.The “Best Western Le Vinci Loire Valley” hotel is in Amboise the ideal location to comeand discover all cultural and culinary treasures of our region.Amateur of great vintages, the Wine Touristic Road will drive you along of the Loire River with its beautiful landscapes and vineyards.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Vinci Loire Valley Hotel Amboise
Best Western Hotel Amboise
Best Western Amboise
Amboise Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Le Vinci Loire Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.