We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming friendly hotel with a great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Logis La Breche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Logis La Breche to your Saves list
Logis La Breche
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Rue Jules Ferry, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Amboise
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming friendly hotel with a great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Arrived by bike at this charming hotel. They had already moved the luggage into the room which was nice. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Courtyard was nice place to sit and read and have a drink. We were on 1/2 pension and found the food outstanding but they did run out of some items on the buffet. Would eat again here. Hotel is well located within walking distance of an ALDO and a bakery for snacks. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    71
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
49
91
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed here for four days after booking it over the net. We wanted somewhere central to visit the Loire Chateaux. (We had a hire car) It was exactly what we wanted. Jerome and his wife and Dad are great hosts. Dad makes tasty Jam! Jerome has excellent english and we had enjoyable discussions about local wines and he gave us good tips about the chateaux and told us to visit a couple that we wouldn't have seen otherwise. One memorable day we were back at La Breche at lunchtime, and as there was a group booked in for lunch, they were cooking. We were hospitably offered lunch in the garden. It was excellent. We loved it at La Breche, and would definitely stay there again. It is located an easy stroll from the centre of town and the local chateau.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

My mother, younger daughter and I loved this place! We wished we booked more time to stay here. It's a very short walk from the train station, and also the central part of Amboise and all the sites. We were in walking distance to all the sites in Amboise. This hotel had beautiful decor in the main inn and a lovely outdoor garden patio. We stayed in their seperate cottage on the grounds which was wonderful and spacious! The grounds are enclosed & locked up for the evening (you have a key). We really enjoyed the gourmet food they served. Definetly purchase the breakfast/dinner package!They also have fantastic wine.The owners are extremely helpful with providing information and even booked an excursion for us! This is a family run hotel, and even the kids help out ! We would love to come back again to stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

This hotel was a great find. We (grandaughter, daughter and myself) spent three weeks in France – four days at La Breche . You can include breakfast and dinner with your room, which I would highly recommend. It is a great deal but best of all – the meals were some of the best we had on our trip.
They were very accommodating. One day we wanted to take a simple picnic lunch with us and they very graciously provided us with it. They even made us a lunch to take on our train trip back to Paris.
The walk from the rail station was under five minutes and an easy walk with our suitcases.
Easy walking to the centre of town. The hotel is within a few minutes of the Lorie River and a great view of the towns castle, The Chateau d’Amboise, which you can walk to in another 10 minutes. Short walk in towne to Vincent Van Gogh’s home which is well worth visiting.
We took a day tour out to a few castles (Chambord, The Chateau of Cheverny). The driver dropped us off at our hotel after the tour.
We later wished we had stayed longer in Amboise, mainly because the proprietors were so nice to us, the meals were wonderful, and the charming ambiance of the towne.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We stayed at La Breche for two nights. The food is excellent and the staff very friendly. Upon arrival it was disappointing to find the hotel locked until 4.00pm each day. Our room was a little tired however and the bathroom needed up-dating.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

The hotel is situated just a few minutes away from the train station, which is very convenient for those who travel by public transport, like we do. It's a 10-15 minutes' walk to centre of the town. The rooms are rather spacious and nicely decorated, the bathroom is large and had all the necessary amenities. We only stayed one night and had to leave early so we didn't see much of the owners but they seemed very nice when they welcomed us. The room was not ready when we arrived but we were able to leave our things without a problem, to have a nice walk in town and come back later to find the luggage already in the room.

  • Liked — Room decoration and proximity to the train station
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

This small hotel is a cozy, friendly place, rather charming. I was there as single but got a fairly spacious, pleasant room. The proprietor is quite friendly. There's a problem, though, if you don't arrive at the appropriate time, because there may be no one there and the gate to the garden and entrance will be locked. I found the dinner very mediocre, but that may be because I was the only one dining that night, a Monday night. If you're arriving by train, it's in a very convenient location near the station, on a nice quiet street. But it's removed by a 10 or 15 minute walk from the center of town, where all the sights are--the tourist office, chateau, restaurants, etc. It is one of the least expensive hotels in the area so a very good value.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Logis La Breche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis La Breche

Address: 26 Rue Jules Ferry, 37400 Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
#4 Family Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Logis La Breche 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Logis La Breche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis La Breche Hotel Amboise
La Brèche Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Logis La Breche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.