We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food , Great service , Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Logis La Breche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Logis La Breche to your Saves list
Logis La Breche
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Rue Jules Ferry, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Amboise
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food , Great service , Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We travel frequently in France and have stayed in many different establishments over the years .
The hotel La Breche in Amboise , though not very imposing , offers the best value imaginable . Rooms are comfortable but what really stands out is the excellent restaurant and very friendly staff and direction . Our dinner was outstanding both for quality and value .
We expect to stay here more often during our french travels and would recommend it to your readers ;

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    71
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
49
91
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here because our tour company, Discover France, booked us here for a 4 night cycling tour of Loire Valley. Easy to find, a 5 minute walk from the train station. We had a room on the 2nd floor which was adequate size, quiet, and had a bright sunny bathroom with a large window. Dinner was wonderful- efficient, friendly service. My husbands dinner was to his liking, mine was ok, but the main course (cod) was just a little on the flavorless side. The first course and dessert were wonderful. Wifi was reliable. Breakfast was the typical continental breakfast with bread, croissants, yogurt, cheese, ham, hard boiled eggs and coffee. There was a fudge-filled chocolate bread that was decadently yummy. Easy walking distance both bridges to get into town. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: 2nd floor was the highest floor I believe- quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Extremely close to train station so easy to get to when traveling by train. Very friendly staff. The rooms are clean and of average size but nothing special and no "extras". The price was very affordable. It was just a short and pretty walk to the city center of Amboise. We never ate at the restaurant during our stay but it smelled and looked wonderful! For those on a budget or for those who don't need a five star place to stay with all the extras, I recommend this hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at La Breche for three nights in mid-October with my daughter. The location close to the train station was perfect for us as we arrived after dark and left at 6:00 am a few days later. Since the restaurant is busy until fairly late there was no problem with the late arrival. We were greeted by name and with the scents of delicious food.

We had room #10 on the top floor. It exceeded our expectations. The decor was warm and inviting, the beds and pillows comfortable, the bathroom spacious and recently remodeled. The only minor flaw was a slightly strange odor in the bathroom but with the door kept shut it didn't come into the bedroom.

The walk to the town of Amboise was about 10-12 minutes. The road just outside the hotel is a little too dark but once we were beyond that it was fine and we felt perfectly safe even late at night. The walk across the bridge provides a great view of the castle although in mid-October it is not lit at night.

I ate breakfast one morning - it was a nice selection of food including some ham, cheese, and hard boiled eggs.

We enjoyed our dinner immensely. The three courses actually became six when they served a lovely cream soup at the beginning, a scoop of pistachio ice cream before our dessert, and a small chocolate-dipped macaroon after the dessert. The service was very attentive and M. Berthelot personally inquired after us.

Both M. and Mme. Berthelot were kind to us and patient with my French. They accomodated our early departure and prepared our bill ahead of time and made it simple to leave early.

I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at La Breche in mid and late September 2013. The accommodation (a self contained room) was very clean and spacious. As we were not located within the hotel it was extremely quiet. The breakfast provided was very good and the meals in the restaurant ("terrier") were amazing (especially the Porc pie). The majority of the staff were lovely however I found the attitude of one concierge rude. The location of the hotel (just across the river from the main town centre) was a short walk to all the Amboise tourist attractions, supermarket and an array of cafes and restaurants. All in all a very comfortable stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in La Breche for 3 nights and were very satisfied. It was clean and the rooms were a bit larger than others in which we stayed in France. The restaurant was excellent and deserves the 5 star rating. We ate dinner there one night and breakfast one morning. The bed was comfortable. Its location was somewhat disappointing but worked out okay. It is across the bridge from the main center of town. But the price was very good and getting to and from the train station was only a 5 minute walk. The front desk person seemed too busy to be very helpful, although she was always polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here in mid Sep 2013. It is conveniently located, the rooms are excellent and clean, and the hotel has off-road parking (somewhat limited but you can book in advance). The proprietors are most friendly and helpful and we would stay here again if in Amboise and would recommend it to our friends. Oh and by the way the restaurant is terrific.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Logis La Breche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis La Breche

Address: 26 Rue Jules Ferry, 37400 Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amboise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Logis La Breche 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Logis La Breche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis La Breche Hotel Amboise
La Brèche Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Logis La Breche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.