We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would live in this hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Manoir Saint Thomas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Manoir Saint Thomas to your Saves list
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Mail Saint Thomas, 37 400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Would live in this hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent one night here in one of the "Comfort" rooms in late December on an overnight from Paris. It was not enough. Everything about the stay was top notch...from the friendliness of the staff to the amenities provided in the room and out.

The location is excellent...very easy walk to the center of town and Chateau Amboise as well as Chateau du Clos Lucé (Da Vinci's last home.) Upscale in every manner with a very authentic rustic feel. What particularly struck as about the room, especially after touring a couple of the region's castles, was the exposed ceiling beams which were basically the same as in the castles we had visited...made us feel that we were staying in a truly historic building.

Amboise on it's own is a truly spectacular place to base yourself for a tour of the Loire Valley and you absolutely can't go wrong at this hotel.

Off street parking, secure, large comfortable bed, historic but updated with modern amenities atmosphere...everything really.

Room Tip: Spring for one of the comfort rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    102
    13
    9
    0
See reviews for
101
238
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel, originally built in 1107, has of course been updated so that it is very comfortable, but retains its elegant castle-like charm, is very well-staffed and provides every service possible, including off-street parking.

You can walk every where you want to go in Amboise and drive to the many amazing castles in the Loire Valley many are 45 minutes or less away.

Tip: We got off the train in Tours and picked up our rental car there, since the rental agency in Amboise was closed on Saturdays. The train station in Tours (Saint-Pierre-des-Corps station) is any easy drive of about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife & I stayed for 4 nights mid November, we had travelled for 2 1/2 months to Eastern Med, Spain, Italy & France and this was easily in our top 3 hotels & we stayed in some good ones.
The staff were very helpfull, charming and nothing was a problem for them. The room was spacious as was the bathroom. The Manor is within easy driving distance of Chateaus & Paris is 2.2 hours away. Easy walking distance to all of Amboise restaurants, cafe & shops. The Manoir should not disappoint. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Le Manoir Saint Thomas from 11/2-11/5/12. Our flight from Dallas, TX arrived at CDG in Paris mid-morning on 11/2 and we picked up our Hertz rental car and were able to drive to this lovely manor without much difficulty--although it was a bit tricky to locate in Amboise as others have noted. The Hertz in-car navigation system made our drive from CDG to Le Manoir Saint Thomas much easier than it would have been if we had to rely completely on maps (though we had those also). The staff at Le Manoir Saint Thomas could not have been nicer and we felt welcome and pampered for our entire stay. The room was more than large enough for us and had a nice window that we could open for fresh air (see picture) and the bathroom was modern and spacious. We got some nice recommendations for places to eat in Amboise and other helpful advice as well. Breakfast was a little pricey but was so convenient we ate there each mornings except on our last day when we drove back to Paris. I highly recommend this lovely old manor and would stay there again in a heartbeat if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I, we stayed for 3 nights in October at the Le Manoir Saint Thomas. An enchanting manor hotel located in the heart of town. We got the Catherine de Médicis room on the first floor, a very large, luxurious and confortable room. The bathroom was also large and completely renovated, with all kind of toiletries. Breakfast served in a beautiful dining room was tasty and full of choises. The location is also quite ideal for a stroll round the town, just a walking distance to restaurants, cafes and shops, as well as to the Chateau de Amboise and Clos de Luce.
Don't miss the Le Bigot, a famous patisserie existing since 1913, for an afternoon tea and tasting of homemade pastries and chocolates.
We would like to thank the staff of the Manoir St. Tomas who was very friendly and helpful. We would definitively come back and stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A beautiful manor. A very comfortable and large room with a huge and very modern bathroom. All super clean. No elevator but an original manor house would not have had one of course. Very close ( easy walking sitance ) to the chateau and to Clos de Luce. It had parking and a very nice breakfast for only 15Euro. The front desk person was very helpful and recommended some great restaurants as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We've spent a great deal of time in Amboise, and have seen the hotel before. This time, we decided to stay there, and are very pleased that we did. The hotel is beautiful and very well located in the heart of town. We made a last minute booking with some special requests. The staff came through wonderfully; we are very impressed with the hotel and the Manoir Saint Thomas staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Manoir Saint Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Saint Thomas

Address: 1 Mail Saint Thomas, 37 400 Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#2 Family Hotel in Amboise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Manoir Saint Thomas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir Saint Thomas, dating from the 12th century, lies in the centre of peaceful Amboise- just five minutes walk from the medieval Royal Castle of the Kings of France and the Manor House of Leonardo da Vinci. A perfect place to pass a few days. 10 beautifully appointed air-conditioned rooms, each with a luxury bathroom en-suite, satellite TV and minibar. And, to relax, a shaded, secluded garden with a heated swimming-pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Manoir Saint Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Hotel Amboise
Le Manoir Saint Thomas Amboise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Manoir Saint Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.