We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should Be On TripAdvisor's "Most Unique Places To Stay" List” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos de L'Hermitage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Clos de L'Hermitage to your Saves list
Le Clos de L'Hermitage
6, Bis Quai des Violettes, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Amboise B&B and Inns
Montreal
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Should Be On TripAdvisor's "Most Unique Places To Stay" List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

My wife and I and my inlaws spent only one night at Le Clos de l'Hermitage during our visit to the Loire Valley castle region, but honestly, I wish we'd have stayed a little longer. It was one of the most unique bed and breakfast experiences I've had and my favourite stay during our vacation to France.

First of all, you're sleeping in a cave. I know, sounds weird and creepy right? But our hosts who own the B&B remodelled everything in this cave so that there is a large entrance where breakfast is served in the morning, an indoor pool, and four beautifully decorated Tahitian style bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms. There is only one room that has a window, but if you know ahead of time that you're staying in a cave, you probably aren't expecting to have one, nor will you mind.

Again, it's a cave, so the ambient temperature is about the same all year long. So in summer months, it will feel cooler and in the winter months, warmer. It's also fairly humid in there so you might have a bit of that humidity smell. But the owners do have little air fresheners in each of the rooms and we really didn't have any issues with that. There are heaters as well if you get a little chilly but my wife and I and my inlaws were fine with everything. Keep in mind, part of the reason you stay here is for the whole troglodyte experience.

Breakfast was very good. The usual croissants, bread, yoghurt, coffee, tea, juice, etc. We were originally planning to take a hot air balloon ride which departed early in the morning before breakfast was served and the owners were going to leave us a little to-go bag for our excursion. However, the balloon trip got cancelled due to high winds. Still, it was nice to know we were being taken care of.

If you're planning to visit the castles in this part of France, make a stop at this B&B. It really is a unique experience that will be among the highlights you talk about when you get home from your trip.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We really loved staying here! Our cave room was tasteful, comfortable and very clean. We had a little patio just outside and enjoyed reading with local wine and cheese in the beautiful garden. It is a short walk into Amboise, but away from the tourist noise. Cyril, our host was warm and welcoming and quite helpful. It was totally different from anywhere else, and such a fun experience. Don't miss wine tasting in the caves next door, too!

Room Tip: Only one room has access to an outdoor patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We have just stayed two nights and found the cave cold, I suggest they give extra towels for the swimming pool because the towels do not dry in the atmosphere. I also think bath robes and slippers would be a nice touch. The couple were pleasant enough but be warned you are not allowed to check in until 5pm and parking is on the street outside

Room Tip: Wifi not available in the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is an amazing place and experience and we loved it.
We stayed in the Hibiscus room which consisted of a large room with a big bed, large wardrobe, desk, heater (amazing colour screen) but no air conditioning – possibly due to it being an actual, real live cave with cave walls etc.
The bathroom was adjoining and was lined with the softest fake grass.
So cool.
There was a Jacuzzi bath that was amazing, lights, jets, bubbles.
Good hot water, lots of pressure.
But it was a bath not a shower and for those that only shower, it is a little awkward to shower with a hand piece.
Inside the main cave is a pool table and a swimming pool and on the one afternoon we went for a swim, Cyril brought us a glass of sparkling wine to enhance our experience of swimming in a cave.
Breakfast consisted of the usual bread, croissants, jam, sweet pastries and coffee but there was no cheese or meat or juice that we were served at most other B&Bs on our journey.
Cyril and Melanie(?) were so lovely and couldn’t do enough for us especially Cyril who went above and beyond in tracing down where we had left my wallet (obviously in error) on our drive from Epernay to Amboise the day before.
He rang many places with the urgency that we felt. Too often people half heartedly try to help but not Cyril.
We are eternally grateful.
There is a lovely outdoor area to relax and read or drink and snack.
It really is a beautiful B&B.
You have to experience it to understand how cool it is.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the Hibiscus room which was big and well appointed. The jacuzzi is so cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed in 2 rooms recently. The hotel has been fashioned out of old caves in Amboise, so it has a unique atmosphere. The decor is a little OTT, as I think the owners are trying to make it Hollywood glamorous- think huge spa baths with coloured lights. But the rooms were spacious and clean and it was great to stay in a cave. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The rest of my group enjoyed the indoor pool, and the front garden is pretty. About 20 mins walk into the village centre. I agree it was perhaps a little overpriced.

Room Tip: The front room is large, bright, and has a door directly to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A young couple are creating this B&B out of a cave - literally and it is their home as well as the B&B. In nice weather - there is a pleasant garden.
You can park right outside. Breakfast is included. But I did this $130/night was a bit high for the quality.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyril w, Owner at Le Clos de L'Hermitage, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for your rewiews, a cave is a very special place with lot of charges...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our trip through the Loire Valley. When we arrived, we were upgraded to the room with a separate bathroom/jacuzzi. It was very large and spacious.

The morning breakfasts were plentiful, fresh and delicious. The owner and his team were great in providing us with tips of where to eat.

Parking is very easy - on the street in front of the b&b.
The swimming pool inside the main cave is fabulous! We were even given glasses of champagne to accompany our dip in the pool.

Did not experience any trouble with the cave or any other issues mentioned by earlier reviewers. The new owner has done a fantastic job in creating this fabulous b&b.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos de L'Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de L'Hermitage

Address: 6, Bis Quai des Violettes, 37400 Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the earth of Loire Valley, Real Troglodyte House with heated swimming pool.Beautiful garden, quiet...Near Amboise castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Clos de L'Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos de L'Hermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.