We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes to your Saves list
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34, Quai Charles Guinot, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Amboise
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Location with view of chateau Amboise and river bridge. Parking very convenient and free. Staff is very helpful. Rooms are ok. Internet is a critic point for this hotel. Not easy to register, slow and demand new registration every few hours. This was the worst internet during our visit in France but the best parking for the car.
Recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    97
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
98
396
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Our stay mirrored those of so many others - a wonderful experience despite the weather! The location is ideal for investigating both Amboise and it's delights along with other areas within easy driving distance. The staff were great and attended to our every need. We stayed at some great places on our trip but this one topped them all!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Wonderful location, spacious cottage room in the annex with a huge bathroom. Beautiful, huge trellis covered in pink roses outside the door. Wonderful staff - they could not do enough to help with the internet, serve drinks and provide helpful information. Great parking, very close to the Chateau and old town - be sure to visit both. In the old town there is the best bakery we ate at in all of France - everything was amazing - l' Horloge. We loved Amboise and were able to enjoy the peace and quiet here and use it as a base to visit several other Chateaus and the beautiful town of Loches.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Manoir les Minimes is rightfully placed on TripAdvisor as the top accommodation is Amboise. I researched long and hard for our Loire Valley jaunt before deciding on this hotel, and I wasn't disappointed. This Hotel is class, class, class. Brilliant location (you look straight at the Chateau 100 metres away, and across the Loire River.

We had a Deluxe Manor Room (1 step down from their best suite) and we had views of both the chateau and the river. Our friends had a Tradition Room and were very pleased as well.

I treated my wife to a balloon ride for two and it took off from the sand bank about 300 metres from the hotel. Lovely gardens as well for an evening drink, I would recommend this as one of the two best places I stayed in France, alongside Domaine de la Tortiniere.

Room Tip: The Manor Rooms are brilliant facing both river and chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

we stayed here recently during a VBT bicycle vacation. hotel is a stones throw from shops/restaurants. our room was very nice, clean, great shower, quiet. breakfast was very good. front desk staff very helpful with restaurant recommendations and making reservations. all in all a very nice place to stay while in amboise, and would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

An excellent place to stay close to the Chateau. We stayed in the deluxe pavilion room in the cottage facing the manor house. The room was large, well decorated, with a sofa and good sized en suite and separate toilet. It was very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the curtains blocked the light well, it was also quiet and air conditioned. There was sufficient parking available for all rooms. Our welcome was friendly and efficient, we were shown to our room and everything explained. We considered it a great place to stay and the only minor negative was that, in our opinion, breakfast should have been included for the price paid but we would stay there again if in Amboise.

Room Tip: Deluxe Pavilion Room in cottage was fine, do not be put off by the fact that it is not in the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed in a deluxe manor room located on the second floor. Be advised that there is no elevator so you will have to carry your luggage upstairs. The room was spacious, elegant and very comfortable. If you are a light sleeper be aware that the floors creek quite a bit and the walls are thin. You are given a key to open the door to your room rather than an electronic card. The bath amenities could use body lotion.

The hotel's front gates close after 11:00 PM but you are given a remote control opener to open them should you come in after this time. There is no staff at the front desk or other service after 11:00 PM. The majority of the staff at this hotel lacked warmth and friendliness.

The breakfast is served buffet style. It offers eggs, yogurt, deli ham, cereal along with breads with butter and jam. It's convenient but the quality of the food and selections could be improved. The value of the breakfast did not compare to other hotels we stayed at in France.

The location of the hotel was great and just a short walk from the center of town. It's also about 15 minutes from the train station. A one way cab fare from the train station cost us 55 Euros.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricDEFORGES, Directeur général at Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our home and its comfort.

Regarding luggage, staff offer customers to carry their luggage upon check in and check out. We remind very well on your check in we carried up your luggage from the taxi to your room.

We are very sorry but in your bathroom you have body lotion. In each bathroom, luxury Thierry Mugler toiletries were provided : hair and body shower, gentle conditioner, Body lotion, gentle soap, bath salts etc…

We want also to clarify your comments concerning the hotel's gates:

To secure our parking area, the gates are closed between 10 to 11 pm, the key ring is composed of an electronic command box to open the gate. The hotel’s front desk is closed between 12 pm to 6 am, during this period the staff is available by the phone. (we gave this instruction when you made the check in but may be you did not listen because you were stressed by your trip by train from Caen that you missed…and your bad feeling about the taxi rate...).

Concerning the warm less of the staff, we try to offer the same quality of all our guests, it is our priority, so sorry if we miss something…

It’s unfortunate that you did not explain to the member of Tripadvisor availability we may have to make your stay pleasant :

- Change to pay your taxi
- Help for your luggage
- Reservation of your taxi for your departure to St Pierre des Corps (less expensive than at the day of your check-in as you arrived a day-off in France, May 8th)
- Confirmation of your hotel Sheraton at Roissy twice

And especially have to spend time to reassure you because you were stressed about everything.

Best regards,

Eric Deforges
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Address: 34, Quai Charles Guinot, 37400 Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amboise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This authentic 18th century Manor house was built on the foundations of the ancient medieval Monastery des Minimes and is situated in proximity of the old town.It is the ideal place from which to explore the chateaux and vineyards of Loire Valley. The selected stopping place offers its visitors comfort “a la française”, a harmonious blend of sophistication and intimacy, whilst affording glorious views of the Chateau Royal d’Amboise and the river Loire.Air-conditioned rooms. No restaurant. Private enclosed parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Les Minimes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.