We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat - worth every penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes to your Saves list
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34, Quai Charles Guinot, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Amboise
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a treat - worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights - using Amboise as our base for exploring the Loire Valley. It is a beautiful town - with a lovely feel - just big enough. We wanted to stay somewhere really special so chose a suite at the hotel. We stayed in room 10 which has a view of the Chateaux and a view of the river. The sitting area was huge - with large windows and a beautiful chaise to sit on and appreciate the view. The bedroom itself was also very roomy as was the bathroom. The service was immaculate - discreet but very attentive when needed. The breakfast is extra and is served in another lovely room downstairs - again with the great view. You can walk into the centre of Amboise in about 5 mins - so it's excellently situated with plently of secure parking (there is no restaurant in the hotel so you need to go into Amboise). I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - it's not cheap especially if you go for a suite - but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    101
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
106
432
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We (hubby, 18 month old and I) stayed here for 2 nights on way to the Alps from Cherbourg. V stylish, great location, lovely gardens and spacious room. Staff very helpful. If I had a complaint it was that it was not very child friendly, but it was on a main road so not really their fault!!. Would recommend for a couple - perfect outdoor area for sipping wine while feeling v pampered! Right beside the Chateau which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a lovely 3 day stay at Le
Manoir The staff was courteous and extremely helpful. The room was comfortable with all the amenities, fluffy towels, robes, and fine toiletries. The location was perfect, an easy walk into town and to the wonderful chateaus. We definitely would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a trip to Amboise for the second time this year. We were disappointed with our hotel on our earlier trip but Le Manoir les Minimes certainly did not disappoint. We had a suite, beautiful decor, spacious, spotlessly clean. Serviced daily. The view onto the front gardens was beautiful, will definitely return to Amboise and stay at this hotel again. The only drawback is that guests are forbidden to eat 'picnics' either in the rooms or in the garden. One afternoon, having returned from a cycle trip we were sitting eating fruit on the patio, a staff member reprimanded us. I felt this was slightly rude and made us feel like guests of the hotel rather than customers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I just spent 2 nights at Le Manoir and had a great time. The staff are very helpful and attentive! My husband even left his wedding ring behind in the room after we checked out and they found it and couriered it to us at our hotel in Paris.

We never ate at the hotel as it has such a lovely central location that you can walk to pretty much all the local restaurants and take in the beautiful sights. There is also a big parking area at the hotel so guests can park their cars easily as parking in town is a bit of a nightmare.

We stayed in one of the outside rooms which has its own entrance.The rooms are a good size and furnished with all the necessities and amenities required. Only thing they don't provide is slippers for walking around the room but bathrobes, Thierry Mugler amenities, a scrubbing mit, etc are all provided.

We would definitely return to this hotel on our next visit!

Room Tip: The outside rooms are very nice as they are just as you enter on the right side so you have your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here. The decor was tasteful and clean. The service of the staff exceeded all expectations (Alexander in particular went out of his way to help us and make sure we were comfortable. The breakfast was elegant and everybody whispered instead of shouting like barbarians (which we saw a lot at other B&B's).

One touch I liked was the private parking, as parking was a problem in Amboise).

I wish all the hotels I stayed in France could be like this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We (three women in our late 30s) stayed here for two nights in July. Overall, a wonderful experience – charming, quaint, excellent location, service and rooms; you won't regret staying here!

Arriving in the morning, we were warmly greeted and left our luggage with the front desk as we were spending the day touring the country. When we returned in the afternoon our bags had been moved to our room, and one of the staff kindly walked us upstairs and showed us our room amenities.

The room - #50 – was a triple occupancy “deluxe pavilion king bed” room on the second floor of the outbuilding (smaller building at the front of the property). If you visit the hotel site it is the room with a checkered bedspread and huge bathroom. The bed was actually two twins pushed together; it and the double pull-out sofa were surprisingly comfortable. After dinner each night we came back to the sofa-bed fully set-up for sleeping which was nice.

A flat screen TV, sitting area with table and two chairs, and quiet AC made for an inviting environment. This was a corner room, so lots of windows with views of the main building and river. Storage was a glass-fronted ‘closet’ spanning one wall –the wall was angled so the closet was only half-height. Inside was plenty of hanging space, some open shelves and a safe (not laptop-sized). A mini bar fridge came in handy for storing drinks. Wi-fi was consistent and strong.

The bathroom was huge -- with a double soaker tub under a skylight, and shower with rain-shower head (removable). Not much counter space as there was a pedestal sink; however there was a glass shelving unit that did the job. Toiletries included combo shampoo/body wash, conditioner, moisturizer, bath salts, cotton balls/q-tips, shower cap and scrubbing mitt. The bathroom had two sets of plush robes and slippers.

The manoir itself was very charming and decorated with beautiful antique furniture. In the TV sitting room off the entrance there is a computer terminal with internet access. Staff were very friendly and helpful with restaurant reservations, calling cabs, etc. The only complaint is that we found the breakfast value to be low for the 14 Euros charged. Service was very nice, however it was basically a continental breakfast of limited choice – yogurt, cereal, cold cuts, cheese. I would recommend heading into town instead.

Regardless, this is a wonderful place to stay if you’re looking for lodging in the heart of Amboise. At just over 500 Euro for two nights (including breakfast), it is perhaps not the least expensive place to stay in town, but provides excellent overall value and a stay to remember. Recommended!

Questions? Feel free to message me.

Room Tip: If you love soaking in the tub, you can't go wrong with room #50!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Address: 34, Quai Charles Guinot, 37400 Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#1 Family Hotel in Amboise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This authentic 18th century Manor house was built on the foundations of the ancient medieval Monastery des Minimes and is situated in proximity of the old town. It is the ideal place from which to explore the chateaux and vineyards of Loire Valley. The selected stopping place offers its visitors comfort "a la francaise", a harmonious blend of sophistication and intimacy, whilst affording glorious views of the Chateau Royal d'Amboise and the river Loire. Air-conditioned rooms. No restaurant. Private enclosed parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Les Minimes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.