We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stopover” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amboise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux
Save
You added Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux to your Saves list
Rte. de Chenonceaux, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Amboise
Campbell River
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“stopover”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We just stayed one night here, the rooms are in a converted stable, but are clean and comfortable, with a bathroom and shower. We had quite a problem to find the place, even with GPS, and the breakfast was very minimal- one cup of coffee and dry toast. The pool was out of order so can't coment on that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
35
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Situated in the middle of the Amboise Forest, the Auberge du Marcheroux is a lovely family run hotel. Monsieur et Madame Hivert are a very friendly couple and will provide a very nice stay.
Do not miss M Hivert car colection.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Clean. Comfortable. Very nice. Breakfast was good and our host was very friendly. It's in a beautiful forested area and it was really nice to be staying just outside a city as it was peaceful and quiet.

Just a short drive to the town of Amboise (about 5min) and very close to other castles in the area. We did have a hard time finding it with no GPS in our rental car so I would highly recommend either using a GPS or printing off a map at home and bringing it with you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We returned to Amboise after visiting other areas of France and this time stayed at the Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux. It is located outside Amboise but is only a short drive to go into town and convenient to visiting the Loire region's chateaux. Caroline was very nice and although she claims not to speak English well, we had absolutely no problems communicating with her. The rooms are located in what were once the stables, but the remodeling has been very well done. They have Dutch doors, paned windows, a comfortable bed and a modern bathroom. Guests sit outside on the lawn furniture and visit. Breakfast was included and the applesauce was home-made. We loved being in the forest and looking up at the stars at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is a cute hotel. Caroline is attentive. The food was good for breakfast. Rooms were very clean and charming.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This location was perfect for visiting all the sites of the Loire Valley. Just minutes outside Amboise, you seem to be miles from civilization, nestled in the forest - yet it offers the perfect access to the chateaux and other sites the Loire Valley has to offer. We took in Azay-le-Rideau, Villandry (a must see for any garden enthusiast), Chambord and Beauregard (an absolute gem of a property). The town of Amboise oozes charm and offers a wonderful selection of restaurants and bistros. Our rooms at the Auberge were very clean and comfortable. My sense is the building was formally the stable for the old hunting lodge, with Dutch doors and diamond paned windows. The hostess was very gracious, wifi connection in the lodge sitting area, and the accommodations top notch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Our charming and easy going hostess provided a tranquil and very comfortable accommodation. Close enough to cycle in to Amboise for a visit. Our hostess provided a delicious home cooked meal of excellent value. Sincerely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux

Address: Rte. de Chenonceaux, 37400 Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.