We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but we enjoyed our stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Choiseul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Choiseul to your Saves list
Le Choiseul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 quai Charles-Guinot, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Amboise
Tyler, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Expensive but we enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at the Le Choiseul on June 1, 2012. We were early and understandably our room was not ready. The property is very charming and consists of 3 buildings. It is located literally at the foot of the Chateau Amboise. The receptionists were friendly and helpful especially Marie Pierre who spoke good English. We left our luggages behind and toured the Chateaus. When we got back, we were given the room we had requested (Junior suite w/ an adjoining room that had a sofa bed for our 2 young children with a view of the water). No elevators but the staff offered to bring our luggages up. We enjoyed lounging in the salon which was beautifully decorated. We did not use the pool so I can't comment about it. The breakfast was expensive at € 22/pp but had a wide variety of choices from coffee, tea, hot chocolate and my personal favorite, the freshly squeezed orange juice. (You have to cut the orange yourself and extract the juice with an easy to use juicer.). Fresh eggs that you could softly boil using a water bath provided, baguettes, croissants, pastries, fresh cheeses, chorizo sausages, apple tartin, cereals and fresh fruits. The lone staff was attentive and friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Le Choiseul.

For those wishing to use Amboise as a base for touring the Chateaus, it is a great location however, if you are using the train to get here, be warned about the lack of taxis unless you have pre-booked them. We ended up walking from Gare Amboise to Le Choiseul. If you need a rental car, the hotel recommended Garage Jordan/Renault. The receptionist showed us a map which was not to scale and so what looked like a short walk from the hotel to rental car turned out to be
more than 2Kms at least!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    71
    33
    19
    11
See reviews for
31
134
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

A jewel of a hotel on the banks of the Loire. Friendly competent staff. Historic rooms and luxurious furnishings in an intimate setting. Excellent food. The breakfast is five star, as is the hotel dining room which looks out on the Loire. Try the local wines as recommended by the friendly maitre d'. We loved our stay, our windows faced the Loire. Parking was perfect. The bed was huge and comfortable, as was the bathroom. The public rooms are in the grand style. Our room had a fire place and classic furniture. Huge closet and lovely atmosphere. The hotel is right beneath the castle. You can walk to the center of town for shopping or other restaurants or to see the chateau. We will return.

Room Tip: There is an interesting selection, from large grand rooms, to small intimate cottage type lodging wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

First of all, this property is not a chateau but a big house by Loire river with perfect location, 5 min walk to Amboise castle and town. The first minute stepping into the property, we were treated with excellent service just like we were guests of this house. The place is cute with unique setting, nice garden and some caves (as part of their landscape). The room is large with cute decoration in matching silk wall paper, lamps, bedsheet. The room is next to the river and a small street but the double windows and doors bar all the outside noise (some inside noise of people walking upstairs can still be heard though). Bathroom is big and there is also a big closet area. Dinner was excellent, the best on this trip. Service was perfect as well with attentive and friendly staffs. Breakfast was also good. I would come back to this lovely place again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house and outside are, in my opinion, equally good. We stayed in the main house b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambroise
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

On first view, this hotel is charming and appears to merit it's 4 stars. By dinner I was questioning that rating - yes, it has a pool (unheated from what I could tell, yes the restaurant is very good, yes, the location is good, but that's where it ends. My husband and I are staying in the second level of room. We had to carry our suitcases up two flights of winding stairs, OK we're in Europe and that's how they build. When we got into our room 2 of the light bulbs were out, the floor in the bathroom was dirty, the lights in the closets have been removed (and the electricity appears to have been capped). There was no safe and we weren't offered a secure place for our valuables. The bigger problem was the staff. When I raised these issues and mentioned that, to me, this is unacceptable in a 4-star hotel, they told me I should have paid for a better room. Really, cleanliness and basic maintenance is only available to certain clients? Not impressed and won't likely be staying at this chain again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Le Choiseul, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Madam,

We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay at le Choiseul ; however we thank you for having taken the time to write a comment. We confirm you that it is not acceptable that you had to carry your luggages up to your room because the staff always offer to provide help with bags.
As explain in the hotel information book, there is a safety box available at the reception of the hotel in order to secure your valuables.
Your opinion is very important for us in order to improve the quality of our service all the time.

Best regards,

Le Choiseul team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The hotel has very good location, within walking distance form the sights in lovely Amboise. Our room was nice, clean and quite spacious with a very comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and helpful and buffet breakfast excellent, as well as the restaurant. We had a great time in the Loire Valley and it was definitely one of the high points.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This hotel was one of the high points of our trip. The location is within walking distance to all attractions in Amboise (itself a very pretty town). Car parking is both spacious and plentiful. The rooms were great - a good size, country chic decor. The staff were friendly and efficient and made us feel welcome. The restaurant was simply amazing (and really for the price, it should be) both for breakfast and dinner. I would reccomend this property especially for romantic get-aways.

Room Tip: get a room in the main building for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with a 3 for 2 price deal which made it seem inexpensive. However even for the reduced price deal it still seemed very overpriced for what you get. Once again the SLH hotels have disappointed on this trip.
It is very well located in Amboise which is a beautiful town and a perfect location for exploring the chateaux east of Tours, and on top of that the rooms are nicely decorated, with comfortable beds. We had a lovely view of the Loire as well as the chateau from the bathroom, so no complaints there.
However, the service left a lot to be desired. Staff weren't helpful and pretty dismissive of many requests. As a high tier SLH member I booked with a late check out requested, on the final day we were called in the room and asked leave, and when I asked about my late check out I was offered I was told I could have 15 minutes extra only. I would understand this if the hotel was booked out but this was just after he told me that the hotel was empty and there were no other guests arriving.
Also we bought some wine at the local market, but the hotel apparently didn't have a wine opener, which I find bizarre in France.
The breakfast buffet is one of the worst I have had in Europe, horribly and possibly powdered eggs.....
Would love to come back to Amboise, but definitely not to this hotel.
I should have read the other reviews before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Choiseul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Choiseul

Address: 36 quai Charles-Guinot, 37400 Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Choiseul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel in Amboise with panoramic view over the River Loire.At the foot of the Amboise Castle ramparts, overlooking the Loire, The Choiseul is a collection of private residences built in the 18th Century, surrounding Italian-style gardens.An ideal base for those who wish to visit the royal castles of the Loire Valley & to savour the area's celebrated cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Choiseul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Choiseul Amboise
Le Choiseul Hotel Amboise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Choiseul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.