We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better than usual ibis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amboise

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amboise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Amboise
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Z.I. La Boitardiere | Chemin du Roy, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 hotels in Amboise
Brighton, East Sussex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A better than usual ibis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We found the hotel was good value for money. Our room & bathroom were more spacious than most Ibis hotels - we even had a balcony. There was a pleasant outside area to have a drink or read etc. The staff were helpful & friendly. The only drawback is that it's too far to walk into town although only a 10 min drive. The town is idyllic with restaurants & cafes in the shadow of the chateau.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    164
    57
    20
    2
See reviews for
44
189
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

During a three week stay in France in various hotels this one stood out for the efficient welcome given, tourist information offered and excellent breakfasts served. Everything was fresh and clean and attended to promptly by the courteous staff. It is well situated for touring and visiting the Loire Chateau.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Recently, I happened to stay in the Ibis hotels quite often. On of the reasons is acceptable price and an adequate, foreseeable standard diplayed.
This hotel was another proof of the rightness of my choice. The reception staff nice and welcoming, the rooms in the good Ibis standard - big enough for two people, clean and comfortable.
The location (outside the city center) makes it obviously the right choice for the motorised guests, only, however, as the hotel lays at one of the main crossroads, it is easily accessible from Amboise and from it, you can also easily head to other destinations in the Loire Valley (without having to go through the city of Amboise).

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Good hotel conveniently located just on the outskirts of the centre of Amboise. Reasonably priced but unfortuneately could not offer adjoining rooms for a family - maybe because we booked late.
The girl on the front desk was extremely helpful and gave advise on the local chateaux.
We usually stop at Tours but actually I think Amboise has more to offer and better restaurants.
The only downside, was that my reward points had run out the week or two before booking therefore I lost my rewards from the previous year, so may go back to the other hotel chain as there rewards are for life.

Room Tip: Book early to get adjoining rooms if offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Although the hotel is quiet I hadn't realised it is out of town on an industrial estate which meant we had to drive into town to eat. One can eat at the hotel but not much ambience. We felt it could have been better signposted. We often use Ibis because you can rely on a certain standard such as air- conditioning though the rooms are alittle small for two people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amboise

Address: Z.I. La Boitardiere | Chemin du Roy, 37400 Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amboise 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amboise hotel is surrounded by the châteaux of the Loire valley and Touraine vineyards. Easy to get to, 10 km from the A10 motorway and 5 min from the centre, the hotel is located in a green setting, close to the forest of Amboise. Entirely air-conditioned, It proposes 70 rooms for booking, a restaurant, a bar open 24/24, a terrace and free parking. It has a conference area for conferences and seminars and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ibis Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amboise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.