We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst 4 star hotel ever for Novotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amboise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Amboise to your Saves list
Novotel Amboise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Rue des Sablonnieres, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Amboise
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“worst 4 star hotel ever for Novotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

i like this hotel to be 4 star hotel near Amboise. And due to its name, Novotel, we've stayed many other hotels around the world, we chose this hotel. The double-bed room we stayed is spacious with a sofa. There are water boilers for free coffee and tea. It is clean and comfortable to sleep with.

1. Wrong room when checked-in We arrived at around 8pm and the lady seemed busy with maybe a bunch of tourist group that's just checked in before us. Then she received us and gave us the room. Room number 269. But when we opened the room, there was a guest inside the room already! What a shock!!!! How could this basic thing happen with a 4 star hotel? We were very embarrassed about disturbing other guest. We went back to the reception and she seemed busy again, but didn't seem like she was very sorry even when she said in a low voice, "I'm sorry". And she gave us another room near room no.269. Basically the layout of the hotel is really bad if you're staying in a room that is furthermost from the entrance. That will take about 5 mins walk with your heavy luggage. On the other hand, it is quiet from noisy guests at the bar near the entrance.

2. Breakfast was terrible almost like a youth hostel class The breakfast was not abundant. I was surprised because other Novotel we've stayed were not like that. It was just served with 2 warm food and a few cold dishes. One positive thing was the tea, which was really good and enjoyable.

3. Terrible and worst breakfast service staff (the male one) On our 2nd day for breakfast we were very unhappy because there was no seat for us to sit. It seemed like the staff was preparing for lunch already. So I complained to one of the male staff that we can't get a seat. And oh my goodness, This guy just told us off, "oh...you're unhappy? you know what, you've passed the breakfast time at 930am, 5 minutes over now, so it is closed!" Wow, I didn't see that coming!! He was very very rude and used a very high voice telling us off. I have traveled more than 100 hotels in the world, and I have never seen a hotel that closes the breakfast serving time so early! Someone must give an award to this hotel for being the earliest closing their breakfast service. So we didn't get any breakfast that day even though our rate included the breakfast.
4. can't register Accord points if booking via booking.com

Room Tip: don't stay at room numbers that are close to 269....it is very far away from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    221
    103
    19
    14
See reviews for
211
154
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
505 reviews 505 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel was far from the town so transportation is a must. It has a great view of the Castle of Amboise, an infinity pool, miniature golf course (not used much from its' appearance), large restaurant. Amboise is a quaint town in the Loire Valley. It is close to a number of Chateaus and castles. The rooms here were not large. They has a queen bed and about 10 inches between it and the wall on one side. There was a refrigerator but no water was offered. The room was terribly musty and you could only open the window about 2 inches as it was on the ground floor. Breakfast was fairly good with wet eggs, cereals, breads, etc. We did eat dinner in the restaurant on the day we arrived. I had a club sandwich which was terrible...uncooked bacon, one small small piece of chicken, a small piece of tomato...the service was slow and the waitress never came back to check on us. The one plus was that it was close to the main highways that took us to the castles and chateau's and Leonardo Da Vinci's house.

Room Tip: Don't stay on level one...that is the ground floor and the musty smell in the halls and rooms is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Excellent view from the hotel, good position slightly out of town meant it was very peaceful at night. Easy to login/use Wi-fi. Very convenient for the Chateau. Happy to go back anytime. No negative comments whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here on our way to SW France. It was clean, modern and friendly. The room was fine for two adults and two children. The pool was clean and there were lots of things for kids to do in reception (Xbox, board games).
The bar and restaurant was fine with some decent food and wine.
Breakfast was good with a wide choice.
It was within walking distance of Amboise centre although it's uphill all the way back!
Would recommend for a stop-off.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel as part of a tour. The room we had was a generous size, the bathroom was very nice and we slept well. As the hotel is some way out of town it was very quiet but this could have its drawbacks for those people who would prefer to be within walking distance of places of interest. Having said that the weather was very hot and the lovely swimming pool was a great bonus for many of the guests. The rural setting was quite lovely and it was a nice base to return to after a big day out sightseeing. The buffet continental breakfast provided plenty of choice for us and we enjoyed our stay at the Novotel Amboise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amboise

Address: 17 Rue des Sablonnieres, 37400 Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amboise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, spacious an comfortable rooms have been designed to accommodate your wishes, regardless of the reason for your stay, so that you can relax (bathtub or separate shower, comfortable sofa, flat screen television, etc...) or work (Free WIFI connection, pivoting desk, etc...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amboise Hotel Amboise
Amboise Novotel
Accor Amboise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amboise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.