We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - quiet, friendly, modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amboise

Save Saved
You added Novotel Amboise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Amboise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Rue des Sablonnieres, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Amboise
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel - quiet, friendly, modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here on our way to SW France. It was clean, modern and friendly. The room was fine for two adults and two children. The pool was clean and there were lots of things for kids to do in reception (Xbox, board games).
The bar and restaurant was fine with some decent food and wine.
Breakfast was good with a wide choice.
It was within walking distance of Amboise centre although it's uphill all the way back!
Would recommend for a stop-off.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    191
    83
    14
    13
See reviews for
173
133
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel as part of a tour. The room we had was a generous size, the bathroom was very nice and we slept well. As the hotel is some way out of town it was very quiet but this could have its drawbacks for those people who would prefer to be within walking distance of places of interest. Having said that the weather was very hot and the lovely swimming pool was a great bonus for many of the guests. The rural setting was quite lovely and it was a nice base to return to after a big day out sightseeing. The buffet continental breakfast provided plenty of choice for us and we enjoyed our stay at the Novotel Amboise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here at the last minute whilst on the road a few months ago. We couldn't get in anwhere else by that time of night, as we really had no time to find a characterful, atmospheric place closer to the heart of Amboise. Having said that, this hotel was clean, comfortable, quiet & modern. Everything worked, as you'd expect from a Novotel. The buffet in the morning was your standard fare, but the dinner at night was a bit overpriced. In all, it was an adequate stopover, if not the best value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms look across the fields to Amboise in the distance. At night the Chateau is floodlit, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights as a stop off on our way to the south of France. Family room very comfortable and buffet breakfast was great as you can pick and choose what you would like.

Good choice of fruit juices, fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, yoghurts, breads, pastries - there's a small section where you can boil your own eggs or get a mini cooked breakfast - sausages, bacon and delicious scrambled egg. There is fresh coffee and hot milk in thermal jugs on your table and a good selection of teas on the breakfast buffet.

Although a little way out of the town it is a good base that is easily accessible from the surrounding roads.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just returned from summer family holiday to France (2 adults and children aged 14 and 12). Stayed twice at this hotel for overnight stops. Overall we had a nice stay.Hotel is on the outskirts of Amboise and as previously said, too far away for walking into town/restaurants.Room adequate.Comfortable double bed and sofa beds for 2. Separate bathroom and toilet. Breakfast - wide choice available and we didn't experience a lack of refilling of breakfast items. Swimming pool - on the small side, but lovely views - not heated but free towels. Didn't use the hotel restaurant for dinner. However, there is a McDonalds and supermarket complex about 5 minutes away. Free wifi, although connection strength may vary in different rooms but adequate.Each room we were in appeared to have an Ethernet point that may have been useable, but we did not have a cable to check if that would have given a better/quicker connection.Stocked mini bar, but pricey! We would use this hotel again.Ideal for visiting the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the chateau in the distance, and some rooms overlook the car park - we had both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amboise

Address: 17 Rue des Sablonnieres, 37400 Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amboise 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, spacious an comfortable rooms have been designed to accommodate your wishes, regardless of the reason for your stay, so that you can relax (bathtub or separate shower, comfortable sofa, flat screen television, etc...) or work (Free WIFI connection, pivoting desk, etc...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amboise Hotel Amboise
Amboise Novotel
Accor Amboise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amboise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.