We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amboise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Amboise to your Saves list
Novotel Amboise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Rue des Sablonnieres, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Amboise
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed only for one night. It is outside of town but really peaceful. The girls (aged 9 and 13) loved the small kids area near reception which had a game console XBox 360, blocks, books, computer, beanbags to sit and pool table. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and the food was delicious and plenty to choose from for breakfast. Only complaint room was fine but smelt when we walked in like smoke but we opened the windows and let some fresh air in and it was a lot better. We went to Clos-Luce (where Leonardo Da Vinci spent his last few years) and also the Chateau d'Amboise (which is where Leonardo Da Vinci is buried and King Francais I lived)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    221
    103
    19
    14
See reviews for
211
154
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were on a recce for a group wine trip to the Loire Valley. The manager and the receptionists were all extremely helpful (Charlene, Florence, In In, and Anne Sophie), and they all had a sense of humour which we found refreshing!
The breakfasts are something else! Nobody could claim to be hungry after this buffet. (fresh fruit salad a real delight!)
We also had dinner there one night, fish, very acceptable and well priced. The setting in the dining room, looking over Amboise in the distance, is an added highlight.
We will be a coach group when we come in June and there are often one or two coach parties present at this hotel at any one time. But they are always dealt with quickly, Novotel seem to have mastered this well, and from the time the group enter the hotel to the time the reception is totally clear again is a remarkable 5 - 10 minutes! And we found that in the morning these parties had normally departed early!
When we were there in April, it was 50% coach groups and 50% Mums and Dads with Children on Easter holidays. (And I must say the children were remarkably well behaved!).
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for seeing the Chateau country, but you do need transport. (The plus side - being out of town - is that you do not have to struggle through the sometimes congested centre of Amboise to get to your destination).
Well done Novotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

After a day of traveling, Amboise provided a reprieve from a hectic schedule. The countryside and grounds provide a tranquility not often seen in hotels in the U.S. Situated a distance from town proved to be a challenge when a member of our group needed to get into town. When we inquired , we learned the cost for a taxi was approximately 50 Euros. That was the only drawback I can site.
Florence, who was at the desk, should be commended for her patience and customer service. When one of our group became ill, she contacted a doctor for us and he came to the hotel. He arrived within an hour and 1/2 from when she called and he was most kind. Florence, once again, had to translate for us, and she did so without a grudge. She could not have been more helpful. Later, when we had to locate a pharmacy that could fulfill a prescription, she spent over 1/2 hour trying her best. I wish she could train some of our hotel receptionists in how to treat customers.
The rooms were clean and breakfast in the morning was an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilamoura
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

After having arrived around 10.00 PM at the hotel, I noticed that there was no room service menu available in the room. Called the reception asking for one and the answer was: we don't have it, you'll have to call room service and they'll tell you what the options are. Is this normal for a 4 star hotel ? The following day, went to the bar around 4.30 PM, asked for plain normal toast and the answer again was: Sorry, toasts only during breakfast. Again I ask, is this normal for a 4 star hotel ? As I'll still be staying another 2 days, hope not to have further to complain about. Good base to explore the region.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Good location in Amboise, nice and quiet, on a hillside overlooking the town and chateau. 20 minute drive from Tours. Great with children as there are plenty of grounds to run around, lovely outdoor pool and tennis courts. Free use of computer and games console in reception which was useful. Rooms were adequate and clean. We ate in the restaurant twice the first night was not so good, we tried again the final night and the food was good. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the town and chateau is a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Novotel is in a convenient location just outside of Amboise proper with a nice view overlooking the town. Family oriented - lot's of young kids were there with their parents during our stay - but despite this, our room was very quiet. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amboise

Address: 17 Rue des Sablonnieres, 37400 Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amboise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, spacious an comfortable rooms have been designed to accommodate your wishes, regardless of the reason for your stay, so that you can relax (bathtub or separate shower, comfortable sofa, flat screen television, etc...) or work (Free WIFI connection, pivoting desk, etc...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amboise Hotel Amboise
Amboise Novotel
Accor Amboise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amboise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.