We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amboise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Amboise to your Saves list
Novotel Amboise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Rue des Sablonnieres, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Amboise
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have stayed at 6 Novotels on our way to and from the South. This was the best in every respect. The view from the hotel (the hotel itsel, the beautiful pool and the restaurant) is stunning - overlooking the Loire valley and the chateau. The pool is an infinity pool - which looked great and the restaurant was the best Novotel restaurant by a very long way.

We will definitely be back - it was a wonderful stopover.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    235
    109
    19
    14
See reviews for
220
164
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Great location for this area. 15 - 20 minute walk from hotel to centre of the town - but an easy/nice walking avoiding trying to park the car. Hotel is really good - have stayed there a couple of times now and gives you everything you need, including overnight secure car parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have stayed in many Accor Hotels as you will see from our history on our Accor Card but found this Hotel to be very unfriendly especially by the reception staff. We are seriously considering not using your company again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

this hotel was part of my Trafalgar tour accommodation. We stayed here for 2 nights. Excellent breakfasts, clean rooms, good service and lovely swimming pool. Highly reccommended

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Very nice hotel with nice, modern, spacious, and clean rooms. We arrived in the evening and woke up to a fabulous view of the Amboise Chateau. Nice restaurant and facilities. The outdoor pool looked lovely..but it was too cool for us to use. The only disadvantage is the location, which is on the outskirts of town. A nice 20 minute walk downhill to the main part of town (where the action is).. through a lovely residential area; however when we wanted to return to the hotel in the evening..a taxi was a must...and there are only 2 taxis in town. After the first night, we learned that it is necessary to reserve a taxi an hour in advance. But all in all the hotel & service were good.

Room Tip: ask for a chateau view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

i satyed here a couple years back as the leader of an educational student trip. The facility itself is nice enough - very "chain-hotel"ish. But I was so disappointed by the location! We had a lovely view of the chateau and town of Amboise in the distance... we had been booked here by a student travel, so it was not my choice since being centrally located to sites, cafes, etc is important to me.

We did wnjoy the lounge area and the pool table. It was too cool for swimming , but there is a very beautiful pool overlooking the chateau/town a couple miles down the hilll.

The desk worker was so very nice to our group, though and we did not have a bad experience in that way. The beds were really not very comfy... and if you are American....be prepared that there was no top sheet.

If you are just looking for a quiet place with a nice, view then this would work for you. If you want to be able to walk to see sites, and stroll the town, look into something else.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed on a stop over on our way to Nadillac, fantastic value for money. Clean, modern and very polite staff. On return home we stayed in a travel lodge in England, same price but could not have been further apart in quality and cleanliness. No hesitation in staying in another novotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amboise

Address: 17 Rue des Sablonnieres, 37400 Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amboise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, spacious an comfortable rooms have been designed to accommodate your wishes, regardless of the reason for your stay, so that you can relax (bathtub or separate shower, comfortable sofa, flat screen television, etc...) or work (Free WIFI connection, pivoting desk, etc...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amboise Hotel Amboise
Amboise Novotel
Accor Amboise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amboise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.