We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel...location is on outskirts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amboise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Amboise to your Saves list
Novotel Amboise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Rue des Sablonnieres, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Amboise
GreenLeadersBronze level
British Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“very nice hotel...location is on outskirts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Very nice hotel with nice, modern, spacious, and clean rooms. We arrived in the evening and woke up to a fabulous view of the Amboise Chateau. Nice restaurant and facilities. The outdoor pool looked lovely..but it was too cool for us to use. The only disadvantage is the location, which is on the outskirts of town. A nice 20 minute walk downhill to the main part of town (where the action is).. through a lovely residential area; however when we wanted to return to the hotel in the evening..a taxi was a must...and there are only 2 taxis in town. After the first night, we learned that it is necessary to reserve a taxi an hour in advance. But all in all the hotel & service were good.

Room Tip: ask for a chateau view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    235
    109
    19
    14
See reviews for
219
164
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

i satyed here a couple years back as the leader of an educational student trip. The facility itself is nice enough - very "chain-hotel"ish. But I was so disappointed by the location! We had a lovely view of the chateau and town of Amboise in the distance... we had been booked here by a student travel, so it was not my choice since being centrally located to sites, cafes, etc is important to me.

We did wnjoy the lounge area and the pool table. It was too cool for swimming , but there is a very beautiful pool overlooking the chateau/town a couple miles down the hilll.

The desk worker was so very nice to our group, though and we did not have a bad experience in that way. The beds were really not very comfy... and if you are American....be prepared that there was no top sheet.

If you are just looking for a quiet place with a nice, view then this would work for you. If you want to be able to walk to see sites, and stroll the town, look into something else.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed on a stop over on our way to Nadillac, fantastic value for money. Clean, modern and very polite staff. On return home we stayed in a travel lodge in England, same price but could not have been further apart in quality and cleanliness. No hesitation in staying in another novotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Very nice hotel! Building was updated and chic. Rooms were clean and comfortable. In-hotel restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

nice hotel, somehow you are always tucked away facing the building next door... never the nice rooms with the valley view. a real let down! and now I have to complete my review to make it 200 characters....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed a total of 5 nights at the Novotel Amboise. The hotel is located outside the town proper on a hill side. Some of the rooms therefore have wide open views of the surrounding landscape with, in the distance, the castle of Amboise. Thanks to its off-center location the hotel enjoys blisfull tranquility as it is set in a nice modest park with garden in which mini-golf and table tennis and tennis facilities are available. The hotel also has an outdoor swimming pool. The rooms are the standard but comfortable typical Novotel rooms. If you are looking for charm and personality then this may not be the best choice for you. The rooms have double doors so that the noise from the corridor is sufficiently blocked. The lobby has a pleasant bar area and an Apple computer is available to hotel guests at no charge (maximum 20 minutes per guest). The dining area is set by the side of the hotel overlooking the valley and the castle in the distance. It is very bright and agreeable. The quality of the food however leaves much to be desired. We started with a 'fondue of potiron and comté' which was totally devoid of flavour. The same thing happened with the 'dos de cabillaud' which came to the table without any flavour whatsoever. The best part of the meal was the selection of local cheeses (although they were not very ripe) and the wine. The chef and the kitchen staff obviously disappointed us and should make it a point to taste the food they prepare before they send it out. It was a sad minus point in what was otherwise a pleasant hotel stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

On a weekend trip to the Loire valley, this hotel provided an excellent location to visit the chateaux and the Beauval zoo. The pool & tennis courts provide good outdoor activities (mini-golf is quite badly damaged). Breakfast was decent, rooms & bathrooms clean (no bathtub however, even in the higher category room). Staff was friendly as well. Brief, I'd definitely recommend this hotel to visitors to the Loire region.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amboise

Address: 17 Rue des Sablonnieres, 37400 Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amboise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, spacious an comfortable rooms have been designed to accommodate your wishes, regardless of the reason for your stay, so that you can relax (bathtub or separate shower, comfortable sofa, flat screen television, etc...) or work (Free WIFI connection, pivoting desk, etc...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amboise Hotel Amboise
Amboise Novotel
Accor Amboise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amboise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.