We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and base, let down by the little things” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manoir du Parc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manoir du Parc to your Saves list
Manoir du Parc
8 avenue Leonard de Vinci, 37400 Amboise, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #8 of 22 Amboise B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location and base, let down by the little things”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

First off, this place is lovely - we stayed in one of the tree-huts, which was well equipped with a small kitchen, lovely shower, and a hot tub. It's also incredibly central - about 5 minutes from the château and the town.

The problem comes with what is offered on the website (wifi, heating swimming pool) as opposed to what you actually get. If the price had been a little less, then this would have been a four star review. As is, for what we paid (which wasn't cheap, especially given we went out of season), lacking these two things made the experience slightly disappointing. Other small things, like the lack of cleaning products, or even a dustpan and brush and bin bags, add to this. Again, if the price was less, these things could be overlooked.

Amboise itself is pretty, if a little underwhelming, and everything shuts incredibly early. It's a great base to explore the surrounding area, which is beautiful, and could serve perfectly for a couple of nights stay.

Room Tip: If you do get a cabin, the one at the furthest point from the house has a fantastic view of the chât...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    50
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
140
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at Manoir du Parc during the last part of August 2012. The stay was for 5 nights, and was in the manor itself, rather than in one of the outdoor treehouses.

The manor was quite large, particularly for France. I had a room which overlooked the nearby Amboise chateau. It was a very short walk into town, and it was great to have the ability to park the car in a secure area.

Our hosts, Frederic and Odeil were fantastic. On the day of arrival, we were loaded up with brochures of all of the nearby chateau we could visit. They had a large map of the Loire, detailing the position of all of the chateau in the area. We were given an explanation of each and what the highlights were, and what to avoid given our timeframe. We also received suggestions of the best places to eat (including disclosure that Frederic was the chef at one).

Everyday, they would check to see what we had planned to do, and offered any assistance they could to ensure that our visit was as trouble free as possible.

I would stay at Manoir everytime I decided to visit the Loire.

Room Tip: Pick a room inside the manor, looking at the chateau. It even has a single person spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed one night on our travels down through France in August - just turned up on spec and were given a studio room in the converted stables. The room was very modern and clean, with a very comfortable bed and great shower. We didn't use the small kitchenettte as we ate at L'Alliance restaurant, owned the same people, where we had a great meal

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband & I booked Manoir Du Parc for a 5 night stay recently and booked a studio room in the stables part of the establishment. To say we were disappointed is an understatement. Basically we were living in a bedroom with a fridge & a microwave which does not make for very relaxing evenings! We weren't expecting the same facilities/room as one would expect from a self catering apartment but we were expecting more than we got especially for the price we paid. The room was very basic but clean. The bed was comfy & the shower was wonderful. However, apart from the bed & a table & chairs where we ate breakfast, there was no where to sit & relax. There was a TV but all french channels although we wern't too concerned about that & the fridge was really noisy. Their were two electric rings tucked into a corner next to the sink but there was no way you cook a meal on them which meant with the absence of comfortable seating & adequate cooking facilities we had to eat out every night which defeated the object & made it a very expensive break. However the location is very good, with in a few minutes walk of Ambroise centre where their is a good choice of restaurants, although we would highly recommend La Cene which is literally just up the road and all the major Chateauxs are with in easy reach. The main house, grounds & swimming pool were pleasant enough but we would not stay here again especially in a studio...very disappointing.

Room Tip: save a bit more money & perhaps stay in the tree house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Ahhhh Manoir Du Parc - we were so glad we chose to stay here, it was really really lovely. We chose to split our break into self catering and then hotel, both excellent.
Self catering is in converted stables, very quaint, light and airy. Ideally would be bigger - but it was big enough - and you could always pay more and stay in the tree house which look perfect size.
The hotel room is actually in the main house, very typically French with high ceiling and traditional decor. Very good.
You can chill out by prIvate pool or in garden. Hosts are very friendly.
I would recommend L'alliance to eat - we were a little disappointed with food overall in Amboise but L'Alliance was the exception and we ate there more than once. This is sister restaurant.
We will return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife & I found the Manoir du Parc by accident, our original booking at another establishment having fell through. What a lucky break! This hotel is lovely - Odile, the owner, is very nice and could not be more helpful in our hour of need. The rooms are comfortable, and the garden is a delight, with a heated pool. Breakfast could hardly have been better. L'Alliance, a restaurant run by Odile's partner, Frederic, was also excellent and well worth a visit for dinner and is only a couple of minutes walk away. All things considered we cannot rate this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Rear rooms overlook the garden, front rooms face the town of Amboise - both outlooks are just as nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This a very cozy and friendly B&B run by Odile and Frederic. We had room #1, on the second floor. The room was larger than we expected, with wood floors and tasteful decoration. There is a toilet and sink in one area, and another sink + shower in another. Bed was comfy. The window overlooked the parking area in the front and part of the city. Breakfast was included, and it was very good. The homemade jams are excellent.

The walk to the city center took no more than 10 minutes through a safe area. This city is an excellent base for exploring the Loire Valley, and we received very good advice from Odile on which ones to focus on based on our personal tastes. We will definitely be staying here when we go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manoir du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir du Parc

Address: 8 avenue Leonard de Vinci, 37400 Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of `Amboise, between the Chateau and the Clos Luce, Gaelle and Bruno welcome you in a wooded setting. We offer rooms, wodden cabane in the Park with Private Pool, Studios and Cottages with Jacuzzi or Spa, Sauna, privated .. The Park and the heated swimming pool (in season) will offer special moments of relaxation. Free Wi-Fi, Free Parking - Restaurant within a 5 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Manoir du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoir du Parc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.