We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than average.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Parvis - CLOSED

Le Parvis
3 bis rue Mirabeau, 37400 Amboise, France
02 47 57 50 07
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Private Dining
Description: Cuisine autour de notre cheminee de produits frais et de grillades au feu de bois.
East Yorkshire, U.K.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Less than average.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were attracted to this little restaurant because it was in a quieter location than the ones on the main street opposite the Chateau.
The food portions were small compared to the prices and the multi-tasking waiter was surly and indifferent. Plates were just plonked on the table with no "Bon Appetite". No sooner had we finished than the plates were whipped away and we were presented with the Bill without even asking; it was as though once we had eaten we were obliged to leave.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    17
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Average Foods”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Simple local environment, we are on the outside due to the heat that was inside the restaurant, which is located in the central area of Amboise, regular attendance, the waiter was very difficult to explain the contents of the dishes on the menu.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Value for money,great place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This restaurant is tucked away down a side street opposite the chateau. We were lucky to find it as all the other restaurants were overpriced. I had the 2 course " formula" at 9.80€ and my husbands had the 250 gram steak at 18€ all perfect. We did have to wait a little while but didn't mind as you can see all the food being cooked on the open wood fire in the centre of the restaurant. Will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A quaint little restaurant that was recommended to us by our hotel for it's great steaks. We had the steak sandwich which is not a sandwich at all but a piece of steak with foie gras. It was execptionally tasty and good value for money - also fun to watch the steaks being cooked on this inside grill that they have as you enter.

We sat outside however it was a little hot at this time even though it was 8/9pm. But August is hot in general.

You must make a reservation as it is not very big and doesn't hold many people!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Absolutely grilled meat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Located downtown in a side street that gives acces to the castle. Furnished may be a little kitschy but cute, hats, mirrors and other objects on the walls. Just enter the premises immediately understand what is the case of eating. At the center of the room reigns in fact a giant grill that exudes the scent of meat in quantity. Duck, veal, chicken, lamb, pork ... you'll be spoiled for choice. Prices in the media.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Parvis also viewed

Amboise, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 
Amboise, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Parvis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.