We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Compostelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Compostelle to your Saves list
Le Compostelle
Place du Champ-de-Foire, 89450 Vezelay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vezelay
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spent an afternoon and evening in Vezelay and stayed here. Owner is great, very friendly, low key and decent English. The location is very charming and picturesque. Had a nice meal in the restaurant across the street. Hotel is simple and basic but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent. If you are looking for a good value in this lovely town, this is a good place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    51
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
35
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located on the main square, just outside the Old Town, and at the foot of Rue St-Etienne, which leads up to the Basilica. There was plenty of parking in front of the hotel (free overnight, though I believe you have to pay during the day, maximum of 3 euros for the entire day). With such high ratings on TripAdvisor I expected a real gem. The hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom included a tub which is quite rare, but the room was rather small and the furnishings basic. My room had a view of the Old Town. The breakfast area had large picture windows that overlooked the beautiful valley below. There is free WiFi and a flat screen TV in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I found the Hotel le Compostelle to be quiet, comfortable, well located, friendly, clean, and offering rooms with great views over the lovely countryside surrounding Vezelay. I would stay there again. It was reasonably priced and the breakfast was abundant and varied, including fresh fruit, outstanding cold sliced meats, croissants, several kinds of bread, local jams, butter, yogurt, everything you could want for breakfast and plenty of it. Nearby there are many restaurants in various price ranges. I found this to be a good value in a good location and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: see if you can get a room with a view out to the countryside, some rooms face the village, also love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

You step over there and you fell like to be part of the family the reception is so harm and friendly is very difficult to find better
Don't misunderstood we are talking about a small hotel with very reasonable prices not about a 5 starts.
My daughter have enjoy all friendly staff calling the manager uncle .
For us no way to choose a different hotel when we are 50 Kim's around .
Thanks Compostelle

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Vezelay is a small town. And there are few hotels that are “close in” to the old town. We were pleased to get a room in this hotel, as others were fully booked. While we were in Vezelay, this hotel was fully booked. This is a basic hotel, and you get what you pay for. We paid 66 euro for a mid size room with a large bathroom. The room had stairs to a dark loft with one bed, which we didn’t use. The cupboard for our clothing was occupied by extra bedding, which I had to move to store my clothing. We had no armchairs for sitting, so we used the hotel’s attractive sitting room in the evening. The hotel was quiet. We had main floor accommodations, so we were troubled by the fact there was no lift. Breakfast was good and tasty, served in an attractive room. And yes, we would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A nice hotel just below the main street, with a free parking nearby (If you don'f find a parking place just in front). Rooms are average, but the view from the back rooms are gorgeous! Some doing directly to a charming garden. The breakfast room has also an unforgettable view. Staff very friendly!

Room Tip: Back rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Vezeley's population is less than 500, so there aren't a wide range of choices. Le Compostelle is a nice place, looking up the hill at the old town, with pleasant views of surrounding countryside from our room. The room was clean and largish by European standards. The beds were comfortable and the room and bath clean. Cleanliness, not newness, is most important to me. Staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Choose one looking out over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Compostelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Compostelle

Address: Place du Champ-de-Foire, 89450 Vezelay, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Yonne > Vezelay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vezelay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Compostelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Compostelle vézelay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Compostelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.