We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding sunset meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A La Fortune Du Pot

A La Fortune Du Pot
6, Place du Champ de Foire, 89450 Vezelay, France
+33 3 86 33 32 56
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Vezelay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $34
Cuisines: French, Winery, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Traditional and full of flavour... Located at the foot of the main street and close to the parking areas, this restaurant offers traditional Burgundian fare and other regional dishes based on fresh quality produce.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding sunset meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly service. Spoke English and Spanish. Very good value for money. We had 2 course menu. Good menu for kids. Total 3 adults and 2 kids for about 100 euros

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    69
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium-Aalst
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place in a touristic spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

When you visit a touristic place, you always fear to pay too much for bad service or food. Not the case at this place. I followed the advice of Tripadvisor and could confirm the value at this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Approaching excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I chose this not just because it was ranked highly on TA but because, compared with the other places I looked at nearby, it had the most attractive menu at the best price. I went for the four-course €23 menu - warmed bread arrived just before the foie gras and its toast, the fillet steak was cooked exactly as I'd requested (between bleu and saignant), the frites were near-perfect, the green salad delicately dressed; the ambiance on the terrasse, shaded by umbrellas, relaxed. I skipped the cheese and was awarded a coffee in lieu - the tarte aux pommes was unremarkable. The local red by the pichet was light, but pleasant enough and very reasonably-priced. For a village that relies so much on tourism, this meal (and friendly English-speaking service) was a treat indeed. Find it next to the big hotel at the bottom of the main street, probably near where you've parked for €3.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Pascal graciously welcomed my group to a wonderful lunch in mid-May. The cep ravioli first course was an outstanding hit with the group! I dream of it now... I had the foie gras stuffed quail which was delicious, and a few others had the duck. Pascal helped us pick a couple white wines, a Chablis and one of the local Vezelay wines, the name of which I do not recall. Both were perfect matches and everyone appreciated the extra attention and thoughtful service, throughout the meal really. The restaurant has a good ambiance, though I regret not checking the upstairs. I also wish we would have tried the traditional Burgundian dishes, but I will just have to come back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One of Our Best Meals in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Delicious well priced food and charming hosts! We were in France for 3 weeks and reflect on our dinner here as being one of the best!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A La Fortune Du Pot also viewed

 

Been to A La Fortune Du Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A La Fortune Du Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.