We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay in Relais Bernard Loiseau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais Bernard Loiseau

Save Saved
You added Le Relais Bernard Loiseau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Rue d'Argentine, 21210 Saulieu, France (Formerly Hotel de la Cote d'Or)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Saulieu
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One night stay in Relais Bernard Loiseau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Perhaps November is the best time to visit the region. The nature is so beautiful that you don't want to leave! The hotel is a very nice place to stay in while visiting the region, sevice is fantastic and all people working there know how to please the guests.
The restaurant has a great atmosphere and the food is good but NOT FANTASTIC to deserve 3 stars! One star is enough for the quality of the food and if you consider quality/price its 13/20.
The wine list is great but very over priced!

Room Tip: Rooms at top floor have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    34
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
165
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice common areas, furbished with lots of modern art objects contrasting the real old fashioned woody dining rooms. Nice, large rooms, very well equipped. Service slow and somewhat posh.
Altogether: this is a wonderful place to come and spend a night. Not for the accomodation! Come here for the food, and you will be satisfied

Room Tip: Mostly all of them are large... no worries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were very much looking forward to our stay in this hotel particularly with a view to eating in a 3 michelin rosetted restaurant. The tasting menu was superb and the restaurant service excellent making for a memorable evening. The hotel itself was charming with a lot of period features and historic furniture. Our room was very comfortable with a bed that guaranteed a good nights sleep and a bathroom that I could quite easily spend a long time in though my husband felt the bath was a little narrow for him. For the price we were slightly disappointed by the offerings of walnuts in the room on arrival. Previous relais and chateaux hotels have had fruit baskets/cakes or biscuits to welcome us with particular personal attention making us feel special. The absence of in-room tea making facilities is not uncommon in Europe but having stayed in another hotel on our way to the Alps with tea making facilities we were perhaps slightly disappointed.Other reviews have mentioned a very personal welcome. This however was not our experience friendly as the staff might have been. For these reason I would give the hotel 5 stars for food but only 4 for the hotel itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Relais is a rambling property surrounding beautiful varied gardens with lots of interesting corners and changes of scenery. Lovely spa with indoor plunge pool and outdoor swimming pool.... Rooms are rustic style but with lots of luxury bits and pieces.... Hotel needs a decent WiFi Internet system... Otherwise... perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms generously sized and immaculately presented. The staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming, with an especially warm welcome from Mme Loiseau. Of course this place is all about the food, which was memorable and well worth the trip. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseillan, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed for one night and were treated as long lost friends on arrival. They could not do enough for us, our comfort was their whole purpose. The food was sublime. Well worth every penny.

Room Tip: We had room number 1 and over looked the garden, quiet and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at the Le Relais Bernard Louiseau resort for one evening and also enjoyed dinner at their restaurant. The restaurant, which has 3 micheline stars, did not disappoint, food, atmosphere, and service were all wonderful and this is truly a world class dining experience. The hotel on the other hand was not up to the same standard. This is not to say that it is in way bad. On the contrary it was indeed a wonderful experience but there were a few things that were missing. Number one is they really don't have a concierge. Perhaps they don't feel they need one, but if your going to call yourself a five star resort I don't see how you can get away with not offering that level of service. We also spent some time at their pool which is situated amongst some very well taken care of gardens. There are towels and lounges and umbrellas for guest use, but not once during our 2 hours of poolside lounging did anyone from the hotel come by to see how we were doing. No food or beverages are offered here. I get the sense that this hotel is more like an Inn where the restaurant is really the centerpience of the experience and the Inn offers a quiet, luxurious setting where one can relax. I would certainly return to the Bernard Loiseau, and I woujld recommend that others do as well, I only felt it appropriate to point out some minor shortcomings which I feel the educated traveler should be aware of in advance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Relais Bernard Loiseau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Bernard Loiseau

Address: 2 Rue d'Argentine, 21210 Saulieu, France (Formerly Hotel de la Cote d'Or)
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Saulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Saulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Relais Bernard Loiseau 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel belongs to the prestigious Relais & Châteaux network of independent hotels and offers luxurious accommodation in delightful surroundings.Relais Bernard Loiseau features 32 spacious and luxurious rooms and suites, a library room with a chimney for quiet and peaceful evenings in the wintertime, a billiard room with French billiard, an outdoor swimming pool and a spa in order to make your stay as relaxing as possible.Enjoy the hotel’s privileged location to discover a region with a tremendous cultural and culinary heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Relais Bernard Loiseau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau Hotel Saulieu
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau Saulieu, France - Cote D'Or

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais Bernard Loiseau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.