We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by initial external appearance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montchapet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montchapet to your Saves list
Hotel Montchapet
26 rue Jacques Cellerier, 21000 Dijon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Dijon
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by initial external appearance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

On first arriving after dark and seeing all of the shuttered ground floor windows that back into the pavement, we had doubts as to the quality of the hotel, situated literally less than 10 minutes from the City Centre, How wrong we were, the interior and the rooms were very clean and our room, located on the ground floor front of the building was very comfortable indeed, the shutters kept out the late evening and early morning traffic noise quite well, although even this was not excessive. Would recommend as a convenient base when visiting Dijon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or the side of the hotel would be quieter, although traffic noise not too excessiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    51
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
40
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Agree with the other comments that the entrance foyer leads you to the conclusion that you made a big mistake with the reservation.

Very welcoming reception but very slow
Parking good on street just move car before 9am
Rooms clean and fresh
NO LIFT

...and my final and most important point. If you want to sleep which I am assuming you do then you had better sleep in your car rather than on the mattresses at this hotel. Sadly nothing else matters as without sleep you have a rather useless hotel - if the beds had been comfortable I would have given this place top marks for the welcome, price, size and condition of the rooms.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere with better beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

At first I was a little bit shocked, the entrance of the hotel looks old and cheap. But the staff, the renovated room and the French breakfast were good. I would recommend they renovate the breakfast area and the entrance. Make sure you have coins for the parking outside , no cards or bills and check out Dijon centre ville.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel is within easy walking distance of the centre of Dijon and the main railway station. It is comfortable and clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Dijon itself is well worth a visit and the staff of the Tourist Information Offices are very helpful, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about their lovely city.

On the down side the rooms of the Hotel Montchapet are a little basic and the optional breakfast is fresh and adequate but it is French (not full English!)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were here for a short visit to Dijon, sightseeing and wine tasting.
Even if the check-in on Saturdays is after 5 p.m. (it was announced in reservation confirmation) we did not mind - the centre of town is just around two corners and we can have a cup of coffee after we arrived (at 4 p.m.)
Receptionist was friendly, giving us recommendation for restaurants (we used one of them and it was perfect), discussing with us our French :-) and always smiling.
We had breakfast - typical French, croissant, baquette, choice of hot drinks, choice of marmelade, honey, butter, juice. Everything fresh and tasty. We enjoyed it (and did not expect more for 6 Euro in France).
The place was calm, rooms renovated and clean, bed very comfortable, we slept very well after spending all days in Dijon or in countryside. For sightseeing in Dijon we can recommend the hotel to everyone. It fullfiled everything we expected for the price.

Room Tip: Our room lead to the backyard and it was perfect. Be prepared that staircase to the floor is narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

When we checked in the receptionist was neither polite nor friendly she just said you are in room 214 for 3 nights and looked a bit shocked, then we found out the room overlooked the main road was tiny and very noisy, we complained and was given another room, shortly after we were pestered about did we want breakfast, on seeing the dining room and the plastic plates etc we decieded against this (glad we did as another couple were complaining about Breakfast the following day)
Very strange hotel really can only check in after 5.30pm otherwise door is locked???
very dissapointed with our stay, walls paper thin, poor wifi signal, management dont seem to care

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back off the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel is well priced and is an easy walk to the city center. The rooms are drab and tiny. You do get what you pay for. Front desk staff was nether helpful nor rude, they didn't seem very interested. We did not try the breakfast. We thought we could get a better breakfast by stopping at a local bakery. There is no private parking but you can park on the street relatively easy or use a garage. Overall, I did not get the impression that the staff cared whether you were there or not. Both the check in and checkout left me feeling like I was a bit of nuisance to them. Dijon is a nice city and good place to start your tour of Burgundy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montchapet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montchapet

Address: 26 rue Jacques Cellerier, 21000 Dijon, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montchapet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montchapet Hotel Dijon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montchapet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.