We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Loft

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City Loft to your Saves list
City Loft
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Rue Des Godrans, 21000 Dijon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Dijon
NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed there for one night in Septmber of 2012. Spacious room with kitchenette, decor is outdated, but for what we paid it was ok. Great location - all restaurants and shopping nearby. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
18
29
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beirut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

in a prime location in Dijon we arrived exhausted after 9 hours trip by train, but we sadly found the hotel in its very bad situation even horrible, there was vehicles blocking the entrance we couldn’t enter to the court we kept our luggage outdoor and I tried to enter and talk to the receptionist which simply told me that “we are sorry sir you cannot check inn right now we have a big problem in the hotel the sewers are blocked, we are trying to evacuate water from the floors and repairing the drainage…”and that we have to go out for a tour maybe 2 or 3 hours till the problem is resolved…..The situation was so bad noting that the stay was prepaid means we cannot change the hotel, we will lose the money…we went out and came back after 4 hours or later there was a very bad smell all over the place we entered the room there was no water to shower no water in taps and inside the room smell of smoke and old furniture ......I have to mention that later on everything was fine again ,we got back the water to shower ..The breakfast wasn’t bad.....we tried to forget what happened and we continued the rest of the trip in a better mood ....after all it wasn't the good choice.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Dijon is simply beautiful! A must see if you have the opportunity!

I chose this hotel for three reasons:

a) the location of the hotel could not have been better for sightseeing on foot all the main tourist attractions in Dijon.

b) the price was right if you are looking for economy lodgings which we were (travelling with a friend who was on a budget).

c) it was very close to the Train Station which was key in our travel itinerary.

As for the room - it was certainly spaceous (in comparison to Paris standards) and came with a mini kitchen. Having the kitchen didn't make much sense to me since your room key turns on the electricity. So if you wanted to keep food cold in the fridge.....and weren't in the room ....then you're taking your chances. We were pleased to find a safe in the room and not at the front desk as listed in the hotel description. The beds I will admit were simply horrible - like wood planks! Note - some rooms have double beds and other's two singles together. Ironically, we got the room with two singles and our single friend got the room with the double. The furniture, walls, curtains, fixtures are all from the 60s/70s era and I think should be tossed or donated. The only new upgrades in the room can be found in the bathroom.

Other things to note about the City Loft residence - they do not clean the rooms on a daily basis, there is no internet access/computer in the hotel. The front desk staff are young but are friendly, helpful and follow through on any request you may have. The cold breakfast buffet didn't interest either of us especially when there are places within 500 feet to buy fresh croissants or if craving hot cheap eggs - McDonalds.

SUNDAYS and MONDAYS!!!! Nothing is open on Sunday in Dijon and just outside of Dijon everything remains closed on the Monday. The grocery store is open till 11am on Sundays, as well we found a few restaurants and a handful of stores. My suggestion, tour the churches.

Also little jars of mustards are for sale everywhere, however, you can also buy them in the "Casino" grocery store chain at a 1/3 of the price. I wish I had found that deal earlier.

We also did the Authentica Wine Tour. I was surprised at how little wine for the price of the tour you got to sample. Not like back home in Ontario. There was only one tasting of 4-5 wines in a cellar at an unknown winery. Why...the owner of the cellar is friends with the owner of the Tour Company. On the positive at least the price of the wine was cheap. I actually don't think I would recommend the tour. The tour also includes a stop in Beaume which is a pretty little town, however the timing is off unless you like window gazing. 90% of the stores in Beaume are closed from 12-2pm. We did find one winery that was open in Beaume but you need to pay for this.

In closing we chose Dijon because there is a direct train to CDA airport in Paris. The train leaves Dijon at 6:40am and arrives at the airport at 8:30am which was fantastic!!!! For those flying Air Canada - it's even the same terminal!!!

One last note - there is a hat store across the street from the hotel. It's really quite quaint and has an amazing selection of mens and womens hats for all seasons.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night and it was wonderfully located and close to secure underground parking. The beds would benefit from new mattresses otherwise I think the price reflects the standard of accommodation for the location well. Travellers to dijon should note that there are major roadworks at the moment, sept 2011, and it is very, very, difficult to drive in the inner city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Hotel City Loft has a perfect location - very central. It is true that have`t car parking (they say that have - but when we arrived at reception they said - the parking is full). We parked the car at 100 - 150 m from the hotel on the street (in the night it is free and from 09.00 a.m. we paid for parking) and was OK.
Dijon was a pleasant surpise for us - is a very beautiful town (in the center, because the rest of town was full of works for new tram line).
We received a large room, at the corner, with view on 2 streets from the center - a perfect view.
The room wasn`t very clean - but acceptable. It had a clean kitchen (corner) with all amenities and a table with 4 chairs.
We passed breakfast - which anyway did not seem very appetizing and the room for breakfast (in Reception) was full of Chinese people.
The staff was friendly (evening at reception and in the morning - at breakfast room).
So - I recommend this hotel for all type of travelers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Although City Loft is centrally located, we found the hotel in a very bad shape. It has a lot of potential because of its central location and small parking lot, only that it needs to improve its appearance and housekeeping. The beds were similar to sleeping cots. Constantly we can hear the noise of running water and flushing of the toilets from another room. The cabinet containing the coffee maker was extremely dirty which discouraged guests from making coffee. We booked this hotel through a travel agency @ $145 Cdn per night. For this price, we expected a decent hotel at least with proper beds and sewer system.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

The hotel is located in the center of the city.

A big underground parking is 2 minutes walk and the parking free for a full night was about 5 Euro

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Loft

Address: 96 Rue Des Godrans, 21000 Dijon, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Dijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Loft 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Loft Dijon
City Loft Hotel Dijon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.