We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Chouette

La Chouette
4 rue de la Chouette, Dijon, France
+33 9 81 67 79 85
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 406 Restaurants in Dijon
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Nous aurons le plaisir de vous accueillir dans notre etablissement du lundi au dimanche de 9h a 18h, pour un cafe, un verre de vin ou une bonne crepe, le tout dans un cadre accueillant et comme a la maison ! Fermeture hebdomadaire le mercredi - Le soir uniquement sur reservation
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“So friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We popped in for breakfast only to find out they didn't serve food that early. Instead the lovely lady sent my husband round the corner to the bakery to buy croissants whilst she sorted out hot drinks for us. Incredibly friendly place - all the locals said hello and goodbye to us and a fantastic location. Wish we could have eaten there too.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    29
    3
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cozy dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Cite place with a few pastas and mostly crepes. Simple but well executed and it was a delightful and relaxed meal. The owner (or manager perhaps) was about the nicest person we met in France.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie E, Gérant at La Chouette, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much Joshua for your so nice advice, it's very nice from you !
Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice small "living room" cafe with very friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Small cafe/ restaurant, serving simple but very good food (pancakes, salads, pasta). Nice ambiance, feeling like at home. Good prices and very nice friendly staff. Also good place to just have a coffee and a small bite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie E, Gérant at La Chouette, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hello !

I want to thank you for your advice on trip so nice.

I'm happy if you have past a good moment in La Chouette Café.

Kinds regards,

Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“A small menu but easy for lunch. Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Galette (crepe wrapped over filling and baked) is the main choice here but is light and delicious.
The formule meal for lunch works well if you are planning dinner our as well as it is just 2 servings, not the usual 3 - for 11.90€ with a nice cider. The lady who took care of us was lots of fun and we felt relaxed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie E, Gérant at La Chouette, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hello !

I want to thank you for your advice on trip so nice.

I'm happy if you have past a good moment in La Chouette Café.

Kinds regards,

Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for lunch or a light evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I do believe that for a restaurant to get a top rating it should be based on the food mainly, but also the atmosphere and service, the whole experience. I'm sure that the number 1 rating for this restaurant are mainly because of the personal service of the hard working, eager to please owner Jimmy and the charming Virginie. They certainly get a 5/5 for being so personable. I think this would be a great choice for lunch - but if you go for an evening meal, you do need to realise that it really is only crepes and gallettes that are on offer. They are nice, but feels 'odd' having this for your main meal - perfect if you have had a good size lunch though. They have a good wine list, and of course the prices are very good. Whilst we had a great evening there, and I believe it should be 'up on the list' I do question the number 1 spot?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chouette also viewed

 

Been to La Chouette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Chouette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.