We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A class act” 4 of 5 stars
Review of So

So
15 rue Amiral Roussin, Dijon, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 406 Restaurants in Dijon
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A class act”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A blend of Asian and French...will this really work? Well, actually, yes it does, the cooking is excellent. It's a nice short menu...which usually helps ensure that the kitchen can maintain the freshness and quality of the dishes...and so it proved. This is not heavy, hearty fare...you won't feel like a beached whale after eating here...if you want that feeling, there are plenty of alternative places nearby.
Instead this is food cooked with finesse, satisfying, but light on the stomach...just what we needed after several nights over indulgence.
The wine list is displayed on a huge blackboard pretty much consuming the wall at one end of the restaurant. It naturally concentrates on burgundy, but there are some other offerings if you want something outside of the region. Lots of wines by the glass - so this is also a good place to sample different local burgundy's if you are planning to buy some to take home. The quality of Burgundy wine can be tricky to predict from simply reading the name (= the village where it is produced). A better indicator than the village is the name of the producer... And in this restaurant they evidently recognise this...because the wines are listed by producer first, then the village. Many of the producers listed here are within easy driving distance of Dijon...so you can sample here and next day go off and buy a few of your favourite ones!

The service was really friendly...and there were many French people eating there, who seemed to be equally enjoying the food as we were.

The only downside (and reason for 4 instead of 5 star rating) was that the two desserts on offer didn't appeal to us. I guess that's the downside of a small menu! But overall we would go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were looking for a very good restaurant for our last night in Dijon. After reading the reviews we decided on So, and we were not disappointed. The tuna entree, chicken and pork mains, the fig and the fruit sorbet desserts, and the cheese platter were of a high standard. We were guided by our Japanese waitress who explained the menu and chose wine by the glass for us. The bottle wine list is huge. The wine by the glass is smaller, but wisely it comprises a very good selection of wine varieties.The restaurant is small with a modest decor which was nonetheless very good. Overall, the food was excellent and matched by the table service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAROPABA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

French cuisine with a japanese chef. Attention to the detail. Good list of wine. Good service. A bargain considering the litle price

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stumbled into this place after passing by another restaurant listed on TA that, on that day was not at all interesting.
They had no room -- but found a space for two and we were wowed! While the owner/chef is Asian we would call the food French/Asian fusion.
We had a puree of eggplant topped with foamed salmon and foamed "Fromage Blanc" (Fresh cheese) and another 3 wonderful dishes. We loved it so much we changed all plans and went back for dinner this evening -- the first time open. Again, while a limited menu -- we basically ordered one of everything! all was a wonderful taste experience. 3 courses for each of us: under 60 euro total. WE WILL RETURN !!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure, a trouvaille”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Modest ambiance, superb and original food, beautifully presented. Ad hoc vegetarian option was a masterpiece!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed So also viewed

 
Dijon, Cote d'Or
 

Been to So? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage So, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.