We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Du Palais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Du Palais to your Saves list
Hotel Du Palais
23 Rue Du Palais, 21000 Dijon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Dijon
Dunkeld
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hotel du Palais is good value for the price. If you are to stay in the upper floors(no lift), you need to be able to negociate steep stairs. The rooms upstairs are small, but have evrything you need for a comfortable stay. The proprietess is most helpful. The breakfasts good. The location is excellent. it is very clean.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor is more convenient, but not as attractive as the one we stayed in on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    60
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
58
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is set within a very old building with beautiful features but still kitted out to a modern standard including good wi-fi. It is situated roughly 5 minutes walk from shops, bars and restaurants.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, with no language barrier despite my lack of French. Even though we were travelling with a baby and there are no lifts, they were bale to store our pram on the ground floor.

Parking in the area may be an issue. We could only see on-road pay and display parking, but were lucky enough to get a spot right outside the hotel.

Overall, an enjoyable stay and I would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Dijon a delightful place and the Hotel du Palais is in a very good location in a lovely old building. Very friendly helpful staff. Our room had decent size bathroom - it was a superior room with third bed. For the money -very good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night during our trip to France.Dijon was a pleasant surprise.A wonderful city to walk around in with plenty of charming old buildings and pedestrian walking streets.The hotel is in a great location just minutes from the dukes palace and the market.The parking was easy,though you have to drop the bags off first.The rooms were a nice size and the beds were very comfortable.Everything was clean and the bathroom was more than adequate,though the toilet is separate from the sink and shower.Our room did allow street light in, so bring a sleep mask.We were on the first floor so not bothered by the stairs,but a higher floor would have been difficult.The staff was very friendly and helpful.It is an older building with character which I prefer to staying at a chain.However for those that want the amenities one gets at a chain hotel,it might not be for them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This remodeled hotel made our trip to Dijon more than just pleasurable we felt like we were in our home away from home. The staff is very courteous and the room was so nice and clean. Location location location...you can walk everywhere from here and we did so. We'd come back to Dijon simply because we'd feel comfortable in our accomodations to explore more of the Cote d'Or, drink more wonderful wine, eat more delicious food and enjoy all the various art festivals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelduPalais21, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Palais, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We thank you very much for your review and are looking forward to receiving you again ! like at home !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Du Palais Dijon

For the price we paid (69€ per night) you can not go too wrong. Our room although very small was very clean & decorated beautifully with respect shown to the era of the building.

The breakfast was fair, some pastries, croissants, hams, cheeses & cereals on offer.

The best thing about this hotel is the location as it is only minutes walk away to the main square which connects to so many fantastic restaurants, shops & cafes.

The owner Sandy was a pleasure, always so kind, courteous & helpful. She spoke excellent English & was very hospitable to all of the guests.

Please note that this hotel does not have a lift so if you have lots of heavy luggage this may not be the hotel for you.

If you have a car there is no direct parking and the closet car park is Saint Anne (about 5 mins walk to hotel). The hotel has a special arrangement with the car park & charges 5€ per 24 hours. These are purchased from the hotel. As we had lots of luggage which was too much to carry from Saint Anne we found a street park near the hotel & dropped our bags that way.

For a fantastic dinner you must visit "Le Bouchon Du Palais" which is only a minutes walk from the hotel. The 26€ 3 course menu was fantastic with lovely home style traditional French cuisine. The owner spoke good English and had a very good sense of humor.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelduPalais21, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Palais, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much fo your review. Lookinf forward to seeing you again !
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the hotel and were very happy with our stay. Good room with a large bathroom that would do justice to a 5 star hotel, excellent breakfast and friendly staff. The location is terrific, only 5 minutes walk to almost everywhere. It is an old building so there are a few drawbacks (no lift, narrow stairs) but nothing that would stop me returning - highly recommended !!!

Room Tip: The additional cost of a superior room is worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelduPalais21, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Palais, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review ! See you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Palais

Address: 23 Rue Du Palais, 21000 Dijon, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Dijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This very charming hotel with a typical Burghundian style is ideally placed in the hyper centre of the town, close to the Palace of Dukes, shops and restaurants and less than 5 min from the main muséums.Its recent renovation adds refinement preserving its attic rooms so coveted with the comfort of AIR CONDITIONING in all the building!You'll find in this Hôtel the welcome and the conviviality of a guest house ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Du Palais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.