We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people, very clean rooms...we'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Du Palais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Du Palais to your Saves list
Hotel Du Palais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Rue Du Palais, 21000 Dijon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madison, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice people, very clean rooms...we'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This remodeled hotel made our trip to Dijon more than just pleasurable we felt like we were in our home away from home. The staff is very courteous and the room was so nice and clean. Location location location...you can walk everywhere from here and we did so. We'd come back to Dijon simply because we'd feel comfortable in our accomodations to explore more of the Cote d'Or, drink more wonderful wine, eat more delicious food and enjoy all the various art festivals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelduPalais21, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Palais, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We thank you very much for your review and are looking forward to receiving you again ! like at home !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    64
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
63
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Du Palais Dijon

For the price we paid (69€ per night) you can not go too wrong. Our room although very small was very clean & decorated beautifully with respect shown to the era of the building.

The breakfast was fair, some pastries, croissants, hams, cheeses & cereals on offer.

The best thing about this hotel is the location as it is only minutes walk away to the main square which connects to so many fantastic restaurants, shops & cafes.

The owner Sandy was a pleasure, always so kind, courteous & helpful. She spoke excellent English & was very hospitable to all of the guests.

Please note that this hotel does not have a lift so if you have lots of heavy luggage this may not be the hotel for you.

If you have a car there is no direct parking and the closet car park is Saint Anne (about 5 mins walk to hotel). The hotel has a special arrangement with the car park & charges 5€ per 24 hours. These are purchased from the hotel. As we had lots of luggage which was too much to carry from Saint Anne we found a street park near the hotel & dropped our bags that way.

For a fantastic dinner you must visit "Le Bouchon Du Palais" which is only a minutes walk from the hotel. The 26€ 3 course menu was fantastic with lovely home style traditional French cuisine. The owner spoke good English and had a very good sense of humor.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelduPalais21, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Palais, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much fo your review. Lookinf forward to seeing you again !
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the hotel and were very happy with our stay. Good room with a large bathroom that would do justice to a 5 star hotel, excellent breakfast and friendly staff. The location is terrific, only 5 minutes walk to almost everywhere. It is an old building so there are a few drawbacks (no lift, narrow stairs) but nothing that would stop me returning - highly recommended !!!

Room Tip: The additional cost of a superior room is worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelduPalais21, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Palais, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review ! See you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchs Forest, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

On our very recent trip to France we stayed at the Hotel Du Palais after reading many of the contributers. And we were very please with the decision.

If you are looking for a luxury hotel then this is not for you. If you are looking for a down to earth, great value and well located hotel with a very friendly and helpful management then this is for you. We were able to open the window and felt we were living the local life.

Dijon is a very beautiful place, and has less tourist whcih si a big plus. It has amazing building and great restaurants to choose from at reasonable prices. If you hadn't considered Dijon before then we would suggest you do and it is a wonderful place and we are very glad we made the effort to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

79 €/night, 9 € for breakfast and 5 €/day for parking in a public car park. I call this a fair deal for a centrally located 3* hotel. Of course there are some minor issues (fuel smell in hall, worn out carpet, basic bathroom, continental style breakfast), but, given the rates, I can live with these. The people are friendly and accommodating, the room itself is large, bed comfortable and wifi is free (although ‘sponsored’). This is not the kind of hotel you stay to relax and enjoy a range of services, but rather a place to sleep while visiting the city or doing your business. From that perspective I can recommend it, but only if they don’t raise their rates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

|We spent our last night in France at this hotel and were very pleased. Our room was on the ground floor and we were worried that we would hear a lot of noise but we slept well. Yes, we heard street noise and some noise in the lobby but it was not disturbing.

The hotel is very old and one can expect there to be drawbacks but the charm of the building made up for any drawbacks. Sandrina, at the front desk, checked us into our room even though we arrived early and were only hoping to drop our bags, go exploring, and then return to settle into our room.

The room itself was very clean and decorated nicely. The quality of the linens was excellent and the duvet was wonderful. The bathroom was white but it was spotless and the towel were ample and white and fluffy. Yes, I noticed the stairway was a bit worn but cleanliness in the room was of a very high standard.

Location is perfect although I can not imagine driving in Dijon. We took a five minute taxi ride from the train station and Sandrina ordered us a taxi to pick us up in the morning for a 6:15 departure.

If you love old buildings with charm, this is the place for you. Admittedly, it is very different from what we would find in North America, but that is what makes it special!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Hotel Du Palais is a great for visiting Dijon by car. It is on a quiet street in the old part of town with plenty of metered angle parking so unloading the luggage from the car is not a problem. There is cheap underground public parking only a few blocks away where you can leave your car overnight. The hotel is very well maintained and clean. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful and even though we arrived before 4.00pm we were able to contact the receptionist to let us in. The front room we stayed in was great. A large room with a big firm bed and a good shower. Our friends stayed on the top floor and the young man carried their cases up to their room. The breakfast we had was good and there are wonderful restaurants a few minutes' walk away for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Front room on the ground floor is a little more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Palais

Address: 23 Rue Du Palais, 21000 Dijon, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Dijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Palais 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This very charming hotel with a typical Burghundian style is ideally placed in the hyper centre of the town, close to the Palace of Dukes, shops and restaurants and less than 5 min from the main muséums.Its recent renovation adds refinement preserving its attic rooms so coveted with the comfort of AIR CONDITIONING in all the building!You'll find in this Hôtel the welcome and the conviviality of a guest house ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Du Palais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.