We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, amazing wine menu!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stephane Derbord

Stephane Derbord
10, place Wilson, 21000 Dijon, France
03 80 67 74 64
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Stephane Derbord is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 393 restaurants in Dijon
Price range: $49 - $177
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Restaurant Stéphane Derbord is found in the heart of Dijon and offers a creative cuisine, rich in the flavours of Burgundy.Tuck into dishes such as Bourgogne snails; frog's legs risotto; fillet of Charolais red label beef; roasted rabbit with thyme powder and citrus flavoured crispy tart. Whether you choose form the set menu or a la carte, you can enjoy a variety of flavours and prices. The younger gourmets have not been left out either, with very affordable children?s menus available.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value for money, amazing wine menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The menus are definitely recommendable. For this level I had expected some more work on certain details (vegetables served for the starter need more attention) , but overall it was very good. The desserts were amazing, both in taste as presentation. Take some time for the most complete wine menu of Dijon! We had a €60 2010 Marsannay "Clos du Roy" from Rene Bouvier, excellent!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    104
    34
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went for lunch knowing the reviews, the Michlen star and the prices, was worth every euro! Lovely, elegant setting, food is first rate, outstanding presentation, staff was attentive, formal, yet friendly and helpful. Spoke excellent english and happy to help with menu, selections. Quiet, elegant, no hurry, classic French food, not cheap but not outrageous for what you get. Well worth a trip, a highlight of our two weeks in France!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent higher end splurge in Dijon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Dijon for a few days this summer and had our last meal here. It was a great meal. We ordered the 3 course meal, and in hindsight, we wish we had gotten the 2 course version instead. The 3 course one is only 10E more per person so we thought "Why not?" We started of with Kir Royals and then asked the waiter to match wines to the courses and as a result wound up spending about 50E per person on beverages, but it was totally worth it.
Our 3 course meal was really more like 6 courses, as the only 3 courses they count are the main appetizer, the fish course and the meat course. They provide several additional courses including another appetizer, a cheese course and two dessert courses. It was more like a 7 course meal. The cheese cart is quite impressive...love the one made with ash!
Service and wine selections were great as well. We dressed nicely as we were there for dinner and did not feel out of place. Not sure if that is required or not. It was mostly French diners in the restaurant the night we were there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad Night or What”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I'm hoping M. Derbord wasn't there last night, his first open after a closed week, because our experience flies in the face of all these consistently great reviews. The presentation was worthy of Michelin stars, but that was it. Three faulted of four entree/main plates and less than observant staff despite a nearly empty restaurant. Foie gras dried out well done; rabbit with Dijon lacking flavor; lamb filled with gristle and raw and with a sauce dried onto the plate along with one vegetable probably from being under a heat lamp. Only the Charolais beef, cheeses, and the amuse bouches were excellent. Desserts were just ok. I'm hoping ours was a bad night, because if not, don't waste your money here. There are so many superb restaurants in the Burgundy area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Superb way to break a trip to Dijon. Flawless cuisine and decent wine list although time and driving meant we did not enjoy wine here. Chef's creations are excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stephane Derbord also viewed

 

Been to Stephane Derbord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stephane Derbord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.