We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Griffon d'Or

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Le Griffon d'Or to your Saves list
Hotel Le Griffon d'Or
10 Rue du 4 Septembre, 01000 Bourg-en-Bresse, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Certificate of Excellence
monaco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for just one night in February, the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious and immaculately clean and modern. Breakfast had a nice european selection and again the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Our floor was the highest floor and we had no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
89
4
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My review will be brief because other reviewers have captured the quality of this place: family-owned by a young couple who cares, elegant, beautifyl rooms, extraordinarily quiet (slept one morehour than normal!), nice sauna/spa, parking, fresh breakfast, all that with a smile and a reasonable price. They deserve being the central point of your trip to Burgundy. Perfect stopover to or from the Alps.

Room Tip: We had room 14 and could not be happier with this large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here enroute to our ski trip. We had 1 superior room and 1 twin room, both beautifully decorated, appointed, spotlessly clean with a lovely spa aroma. The hosts, husband and wife, were really friendly and welcoming. This is a small family run boutique hotel which has been thoughtfully decorated and is very well maintained by the owners with thought and care for their guests. We will certainly stay here enroute to our next ski trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis of other reviews and were not disappointed. Our room was recently renovated and tastefully decorated. Free off street parking was a great bonus and the buffet breakfast very satisfactory with fresh local ingredients. The position is very central and we enjoyed walking to a restaurant, We didn't try all the facilities this time but hope to return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This small hotel was highly recommended by the director of the local tourist office. It has recently been renovated and each room has it's own decoration. The spa and sauna are clean and a great moment to relax (and inclusive of room price). The hotel is calm, well equipped, highly central, and parking (included in price). Only 80€ per night. The breakfast is of high quality (no tea bags - proper tea leaves) with delicious and original jams, honey and marmelade, 13 euros. Probably the best hotel in Bourg-en-Bresse. Don't miss the great restaurant just opposite called "Au Petit Saint-Pierre", that was once a brothel, now owned by Rodolf and Michel, they are passionnate about their food, and the secrets hidden behind the walls of their "maison close". Lunch menu at 15€.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

its so rare to find family hotels in France where the family owners have spent any money since 1980 ! the Le griffin d'Or is an exception , the care taken with the renovation of an old bulding is very precise to make maximum use of space and to integrate green energy as well. its very very comfortable in all respects.
We loved the junior suite (Euro 124 in November), we loved Bourge market, one of the best in France ( wednesdays) we loved the breakfast and we loved the attitude of the owners who were exceptionally and discreetly polite.
good free parking and close to all the sights and restaurants, no time to try the small spa but would def. go there again and its not often we return to hotels but this ne is worth a second visit maybe in the early summer

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Fremantle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have just had the absolute pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel north of Lyon. Only 1 year ago the family re-opened the hotel with stylish,comfortable stunning ambience. Loved the lounge area to relax in, and even a relaxing spa & sauna after a day's walking in the countryside. Very reasonably priced, gorgeous breakfast and the friendliest welcome you could ever hope for. Off street parking also available.

Loved stating here and wish it were longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Le Griffon d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Griffon d'Or

Address: 10 Rue du 4 Septembre, 01000 Bourg-en-Bresse, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Bourg-en-Bresse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Rooms hotel, in the heart of Bourg-en-Bresse. Totally renovated in 2011, each room is different. Free parking, locked garage. Free jacuzzi and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Griffon d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.