We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop on route to the alps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Griffon d'Or

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Griffon d'Or to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Griffon d'Or
10 Rue du 4 Septembre, 01000 Bourg-en-Bresse, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Guildford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent stop on route to the alps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis of other reviews and were not disappointed. Our room was recently renovated and tastefully decorated. Free off street parking was a great bonus and the buffet breakfast very satisfactory with fresh local ingredients. The position is very central and we enjoyed walking to a restaurant, We didn't try all the facilities this time but hope to return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
75
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This small hotel was highly recommended by the director of the local tourist office. It has recently been renovated and each room has it's own decoration. The spa and sauna are clean and a great moment to relax (and inclusive of room price). The hotel is calm, well equipped, highly central, and parking (included in price). Only 80€ per night. The breakfast is of high quality (no tea bags - proper tea leaves) with delicious and original jams, honey and marmelade, 13 euros. Probably the best hotel in Bourg-en-Bresse. Don't miss the great restaurant just opposite called "Au Petit Saint-Pierre", that was once a brothel, now owned by Rodolf and Michel, they are passionnate about their food, and the secrets hidden behind the walls of their "maison close". Lunch menu at 15€.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

its so rare to find family hotels in France where the family owners have spent any money since 1980 ! the Le griffin d'Or is an exception , the care taken with the renovation of an old bulding is very precise to make maximum use of space and to integrate green energy as well. its very very comfortable in all respects.
We loved the junior suite (Euro 124 in November), we loved Bourge market, one of the best in France ( wednesdays) we loved the breakfast and we loved the attitude of the owners who were exceptionally and discreetly polite.
good free parking and close to all the sights and restaurants, no time to try the small spa but would def. go there again and its not often we return to hotels but this ne is worth a second visit maybe in the early summer

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Fremantle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have just had the absolute pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel north of Lyon. Only 1 year ago the family re-opened the hotel with stylish,comfortable stunning ambience. Loved the lounge area to relax in, and even a relaxing spa & sauna after a day's walking in the countryside. Very reasonably priced, gorgeous breakfast and the friendliest welcome you could ever hope for. Off street parking also available.

Loved stating here and wish it were longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed overnight on a road trip to Italy from UK.
Lovely room in a quiet location, with on site parking and close to the town centre. Was perfect for a walk around the town. The staff were attentive and breakfast was very good.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoisandre, Propriétaire / gérant at Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear John W
thank you very much for your comment about us.
It's always a pleasure for us to satisfy each guest.
Best regards.
François André
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Immaculate presentation, spotlessly clean. The owners were extremely helpful and clearly enjoy what they do.
There is a billiard room and a 3D TV room. Furnishings throughout were smart and elegant. There is also a sauna / spa on site that is free for guests to use. We didn't have time to take advantage of this unfortunately but it looked great!
Only slight downside was the breakfast, which we felt was a little on the pricey side (total 52Euros for 4 of us) but only cold food on offer. What was there was good quality, but we would have expected there to be some cooked options for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoisandre, Propriétaire / gérant at Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Good morning,
with delay, i will answer to your comment on our hotel. Thank you very much for your opinion. We dont have a real kitchen with oven or cooker, but we can offer for a couple of weeks scrambled eggs on demand. Step by step we try to offer new things.
Thank you again and see you another time
François André
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

A last minute addition to our itinerary on a grand European tour. decided that north to south of France was to much in one day, and broke the trip at Bourg-en-Bresset, where we experienced this fabulous hotel. The rooms are stunning, immaculately decorated and spotlessly clean, and yet doesn't lose it's original character. The proprietor could not do enough to help, and is quite rightly proud of what he has created. A must stop for me again when in this part of France next time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoisandre, Propriétaire / gérant at Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Good morning Sir,
with delay i will answer to thank you very much for your comment about our hotel. You enjoyed our hotel and our capacity to help you. Be sure that it's our job and we love to do it and it's easier for us with a small capacity hotel to recognize, estimate and take care of our guests.
Thank you again and hope to see you again.
François André
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Griffon d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Griffon d'Or

Address: 10 Rue du 4 Septembre, 01000 Bourg-en-Bresse, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Bourg-en-Bresse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Rooms hotel, in the heart of Bourg-en-Bresse. Totally renovated in 2011, each room is different. Free parking, locked garage. Free jacuzzi and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Griffon d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.