We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop on route to the alps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Griffon d'Or

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Le Griffon d'Or to your Saves list
Hotel Le Griffon d'Or
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Rue du 4 Septembre, 01000, Bourg-en-Bresse, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent stop on route to the alps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis of other reviews and were not disappointed. Our room was recently renovated and tastefully decorated. Free off street parking was a great bonus and the buffet breakfast very satisfactory with fresh local ingredients. The position is very central and we enjoyed walking to a restaurant, We didn't try all the facilities this time but hope to return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chinthurst18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This small hotel was highly recommended by the director of the local tourist office. It has recently been renovated and each room has it's own decoration. The spa and sauna are clean and a great moment to relax (and inclusive of room price). The hotel is calm, well equipped, highly central, and parking (included in price). Only 80€ per night. The breakfast is of high quality (no tea bags - proper tea leaves) with delicious and original jams, honey and marmelade, 13 euros. Probably the best hotel in Bourg-en-Bresse. Don't miss the great restaurant just opposite called "Au Petit Saint-Pierre", that was once a brothel, now owned by Rodolf and Michel, they are passionnate about their food, and the secrets hidden behind the walls of their "maison close". Lunch menu at 15€.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

its so rare to find family hotels in France where the family owners have spent any money since 1980 ! the Le griffin d'Or is an exception , the care taken with the renovation of an old bulding is very precise to make maximum use of space and to integrate green energy as well. its very very comfortable in all respects.
We loved the junior suite (Euro 124 in November), we loved Bourge market, one of the best in France ( wednesdays) we loved the breakfast and we loved the attitude of the owners who were exceptionally and discreetly polite.
good free parking and close to all the sights and restaurants, no time to try the small spa but would def. go there again and its not often we return to hotels but this ne is worth a second visit maybe in the early summer

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 885jilly157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Fremantle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Have just had the absolute pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel north of Lyon. Only 1 year ago the family re-opened the hotel with stylish,comfortable stunning ambience. Loved the lounge area to relax in, and even a relaxing spa & sauna after a day's walking in the countryside. Very reasonably priced, gorgeous breakfast and the friendliest welcome you could ever hope for. Off street parking also available.

Loved stating here and wish it were longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed overnight on a road trip to Italy from UK.
Lovely room in a quiet location, with on site parking and close to the town centre. Was perfect for a walk around the town. The staff were attentive and breakfast was very good.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoisandre, Propriétaire / gérant at Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear John W
thank you very much for your comment about us.
It's always a pleasure for us to satisfy each guest.
Best regards.
François André
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Immaculate presentation, spotlessly clean. The owners were extremely helpful and clearly enjoy what they do.
There is a billiard room and a 3D TV room. Furnishings throughout were smart and elegant. There is also a sauna / spa on site that is free for guests to use. We didn't have time to take advantage of this unfortunately but it looked great!
Only slight downside was the breakfast, which we felt was a little on the pricey side (total 52Euros for 4 of us) but only cold food on offer. What was there was good quality, but we would have expected there to be some cooked options for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MetalPixies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoisandre, Propriétaire / gérant at Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good morning,
with delay, i will answer to your comment on our hotel. Thank you very much for your opinion. We dont have a real kitchen with oven or cooker, but we can offer for a couple of weeks scrambled eggs on demand. Step by step we try to offer new things.
Thank you again and see you another time
François André
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

A last minute addition to our itinerary on a grand European tour. decided that north to south of France was to much in one day, and broke the trip at Bourg-en-Bresset, where we experienced this fabulous hotel. The rooms are stunning, immaculately decorated and spotlessly clean, and yet doesn't lose it's original character. The proprietor could not do enough to help, and is quite rightly proud of what he has created. A must stop for me again when in this part of France next time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank skolfslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoisandre, Propriétaire / gérant at Hotel Le Griffon d'Or, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good morning Sir,
with delay i will answer to thank you very much for your comment about our hotel. You enjoyed our hotel and our capacity to help you. Be sure that it's our job and we love to do it and it's easier for us with a small capacity hotel to recognize, estimate and take care of our guests.
Thank you again and hope to see you again.
François André
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourg-en-Bresse
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel de France
BEST WESTERN Hotel de France
#4 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Logis de Brou
Le Logis de Brou
#2 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse
Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse
#3 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Georges Blanc Parc & Spa
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Bourg en Bresse
Ibis Styles Bourg en Bresse
#8 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bourg en Bresse
Ibis Bourg en Bresse
#7 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
3.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Griffon d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Griffon d'Or

Address: 10 Rue du 4 Septembre, 01000, Bourg-en-Bresse, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Bourg-en-Bresse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Griffon d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Rooms hotel, in the heart of Bourg-en-Bresse. Totally renovated in 2011, each room is different. Free parking, locked garage. Free jacuzzi and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Griffon d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing