We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now Ibis Budget, and I liked it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse

Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de Parme | ZAC des Belouses, 01000, Bourg-en-Bresse, France (Formerly Etap Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Sheffield
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Now Ibis Budget, and I liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel whilst touring back up north following a week in the Alps, and as we were touring by motorcycle we needed somewhere with a secure car park. Upon arrival the receptionist was very smart, spoke good English and quickly checked up into our room. The room was fine, very clean and air con that worked like a dream! My only criticism of our arrival was that signage isn't very good and luckily I'd downloaded a French sat nav onto my iphone which found it for us, the Garmin on my husband's bike didn't know where it was, and there were no obvious signs...

There were no toiletries provided but we had our own so it wasn't a problem, but if you normally stay in the budget hotels and usually do the F1's, just note the lack of shower gel otherwise you'll be rinsing off in the morning! Even the F1's provide it, so maybe they should extend that to the Ibis budget too, but that said, this hotel had just changed over brands so maybe they just hadn't got their act together??

Location wise, I have absolutely no idea how far it was from town, we just used it as an overnight stay and the only local place we saw was the supermarket which was very close. We also ate in the restaurant in the supermarket as the brasserie next door was closed for a couple of days, and it was a very positive experience, really cheap and the food was fantastic - the best steak hache I had all fortnight!

We paid for the buffet breakfast to save time in the morning, and for what we paid (5 euro I think) it was absolutely fine. The coffee was really good and so was the juice. There was bread, croissant and cake plus some soft cheese so we certainly got our money's worth.

The free wifi was really quick and it was a good choice for an overnight stop. I will look out for the Ibis Budget brand in future, it cost about 10 euro more than the F1 hotels and it was certainly worth it for the private bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Another reviewer described this as the best Etap they'd stayed at and it was for me too (although it is now rebranded as an 'Ibis Budget'. First of all I phoned the Hotel and they cheerfully agreed to change the date of my 'unchangeable' advance booking after I realised I had booked the wrong month - and then I rang again to book no smoking rooms.
The Hotel has all the usual Etap features including TV, A good ensuite shower and Air con but also fast free Wi-Fi in the room - no password or log in needed!
We also appreciated the secure car park (locked at night).
The hotel was close to Motorway and sat nav took us straight there.
Rooms almost spotless. Almost except for a 1 inch band of thick dust along edges of carpets and in corners. I guess the hoover can't get in too close!
Breakfast for the four of us was 15 euros as youngest ate free. This included fresh coffee and not the stuff out of a vending machine which you get at some of the higher priced hotels which are part of the same Accor group. Good value we thought.
There is a restaurant next door with a gate which is unlocked so guests can access it direct through hotel Car park. Although it is called a 'grill', it is a pasta and pizza joint - and we thought a bit over priced.
A discount for guests might have swung it for us but as it was ( and after 8 hours on the road) we all just wanted something quick to eat and the new McDonald's a mile down the road fit the bill. You can order and pay via touch screen with an English menu and the food appears almost straight away!
It was quiet at night and we all had a good nights sleep.
Breakfasts start from 5.30 am - for those who need an early get away - and when we left hotel in morning the guy doing the breakfasts gave us a cheery wave.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ring up in advance if you want a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastleigh_News
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Been here during a long trip through France.
Past one night for the reasonable amount of 50 EUR.
Good bed, quiet, kind receptionist, fast, clean.
Free wifi and free parking.

there's a restaurant just side by side with the hotel or otherwise a good brasserie 2 minutes driving

What else?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrado C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penguin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

First time I've stayed in one of these and I was pleasantly surprised. Rooms are small but everything you need is there and it's clean and comfortable enough for a stay of a couple of nights. The breakfast was also good value.
The only criticism is that it's a bit hard to find! We drove right past it a couple of times because the sign is or was hidden by trees.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We'd stayed at ETAP hotels last year on the other side of France and because we have been splurging on meals and scrimping on lodging, we stuck with budget hotels on this trip too. The hotel is standard Etap fare: smallish rooms, minimal staff, basic breakfast. If you want a place that's cheap (I mean, it's under 50 Euros for cryin' out loud), clean and secure then this fits the bill. If you travel heavy, you may find the room space limiting, but if you go with a backpack or duffel each, space isn't a problem. Mrs B describes Etap (which was recently bought out by IBIS and is now rebranded as IBIS-Budget) as a room inspired by the sleeping tubes on a Japanese bullet train and decorated by IKEA. That is one succinct appraisal!

It's also a good base to explore Beaujolais and the area around Bresse. BTW: be sure and eat some Bresse Chicken while you're in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBrainiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Best Etap I have stayed in. Rooms great. Staff great. Can't fault it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourg-en-Bresse
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Bourg en Bresse
Ibis Styles Bourg en Bresse
#8 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Bourg en Bresse
Ibis Bourg en Bresse
#7 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
3.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kyriad Bourg En Bresse
Kyriad Bourg En Bresse
#5 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fasthotel Bourg En Bresse
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse
Hotel Mercure Bourg En Bresse
#4 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alys Hotel
Alys Hotel
#2 of 2 in Montagnat
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse

Address: Avenue de Parme | ZAC des Belouses, 01000, Bourg-en-Bresse, France (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Bourg-en-Bresse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Bourg-en-Bresse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Bourg en Bresse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing