We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice, better than other higher rated hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
Hotel de la Paix
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 rue Faubourg Madeleine, 21200 Beaune, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Beaune
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good choice, better than other higher rated hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had booked a cycling holiday, starting and ending in Beaune. During the first night we stayed at Hotel de la Paix. This hotel is only rated as number 35 on Tripadvisor which I do not understand. We had a large room (highest floor), with a large bed, nice bathroom, goo d shower. Location was perfect: very quiet but within a minute walk from the city centre (and 3 minutes from the train station). Breakfast was also OK. I preferred it to Hotel Grillon (more expensive, higher rated) in which we stayed the last night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    126
    50
    14
    14
See reviews for
61
128
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dornie, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it was superbly located and the room was clean and modern, very restful after a long drive from Switzerland. Our little dog was welcomed wherever we went. Will definitely use this hotel again. One small detail, check your bill before you leave the hotel and not when you are in the car on the motorway heading to Calais. They had overcharged us. My husband did not have his glasses on and could not check the amounts, we rarely find these wrong, this time it was, I'm sure the hotel receptionist would have amended it to the correct amount had she been informed. Pre-book a car park space too if you have a car, the car park does not accommodate enough cars for their guests. Plenty free car parking in the village though.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if you can, but the traffic does die down in the night. Didn't bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a nice hotel in a good location and only a five minute walk into the centre of town. Our room was a good size with a queen size bed. We were also lucky enough to be on the ground floor. There is a good sized bathroom with a rain shower and plenty of hot water. The hotel has a good sitting room and a small outdoor space where it is nice to relax and read a book. We did have problems with wifi when we first arrived but it was fixed very quickly. Lovely staff who are very helpful and happy to speak English with you. We spent two days in Beaune and we had a lovely time visiting the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The location is great. It's a bit off the main attractions but everything is in walking distance.
The room was small and dark and there is literally no facility in this hotel, but the room is clean and in OK condition. WiFi is free but it is as good as no WiFi as we cannot connect to it at the Annex. This is more a B&B than a hotel. The reception staff Mathilde's attitude was horrible though. When we arrived on 1st May, which was a public holiday she told me I only reserved 2 rooms. In fact I booked 4, and even I showed her the printouts, she refused to look at them and call Hotel.com to check, stating it's holiday and no one would answer the phone. When I insisted, she finally looked and my confirm no. and give us 4 rooms. I can imagine if I had no printout, she would just ask me to walk. When I asked about the carpark, she said we didn't reserve. It was never mentioned in any review or their website that the carparks need to be reserved. They only mentioned free parking. She said the carpark will be available tomorrow and asked us to park in the street for our first night. I said OK but when I went back the second day, she said the carpark was full as we didn't book. I couldn't believe it we just had a conversation one day ago agreeing we would have the parking the second day and the next day she denied everything and refused to help in any way! Her attitude was one of the worst I experienced with B&B staff.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the Annex. It is literally in another street above a restaurant and you share the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vire, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nice comfortable hotel. Room was small, compact and nicely decorated. Walking distance to the centre of town and good restaurants. Pre book the parking at the hotel as not many spaces available. If you only want coffee and pastry for breakfast then walk into town and eat at a local cafe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stopped many time in Hotel de la Paix, as it is on my way back from Paris to Verona.
I like the fact it still have the taste of a French Hotel, not like all the standard hotels. You feel you are in the middle of Douce France, and frankly speeking, I like it much more than all the standard hotels you find all over the world. Rooms are comfortables (I had the opportunity to sleep in 3 of them). Location is excellent, even if it is outside the wall. Beaune is a very small village, and 5 minutes walk are not that much! Excellent restaurant nearby (L'auberge Bourguignonne)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a room for 3. It was comfortable, clean, and quiet. The modern bathroom was large. Can't complain. Staff seemed busy. The location was great. Near the old city, but away from the noise. Nice little bakery and restaurant nearby. Lobby was comfortable. The hotel kept our luggage after we checked out and until we had to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: 45 rue Faubourg Madeleine, 21200 Beaune, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of historic Burgundy, just a stone's throw from the center of epicurean Beaune. Hotel de la Paix offers you three star comfort and service. The Hotel is minutes from Beaune's tourist sights, notably the famous Hospice de Beaune, its magnificent cathedral Notre Dame and the many intimate cobbled streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Beaune
De La Paix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.