We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel, a great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
Hotel de la Paix
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 rue Faubourg Madeleine, 21200 Beaune, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Beaune
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A good hotel, a great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here. The lobby and common areas are nothing interesting but the room we had was really nice and modern! The breakfast that is offered is comprehensive. The location is okay. It is outside the old city walls but only by a 4 minute walk.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    123
    47
    14
    14
See reviews for
58
126
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel was centrally located for easy walks around Beaune and the appearance of the room was nice. However, the room had a strong stink - body odor and musty. We spend a month in France and this was our only stop where the staff was completely unhelpful. Our check in was delayed, we had internet problems, and when we asked for help we got none. Very rude.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A 3 star so did not expect luxury but it is a real hotch potch of decor that you wish could be redone. It is near the centre but so are lots of other hotels so would not choose it again. A note on staying in the centre - the high speed train goes past frequently which disturbs you during the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We initially booked this hotel for 3 nights, but because of its quality and location we cancelled another hotel in the region and stayed an extra night. This is a value for money hotel that easily deserved its 3 star rating. The room we had was a good size and the shower and bathroom larger than some 4 star hotels we had stayed at. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of town and there is plenty of eating options close by. From casual, take-away to fine dining. There is secure parking for a small fee which allowed us to leave some luggage in the car.
A bonus is that all reception staff spoke good English. This is our third visit to Beaune and the third hotel used. We will now continue to use this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have now stayed here 3 times. 3 well renovated rooms slept 4 with comfort.
Loication is very convenient for the sites, shops and restaurants of central Beaune, with many excellent restaurants within 200m.
good balance of quality, decor and price.

Room Tip: Other reviews compain about rooms in the annex. we have always been in the main hotel which was exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is close to the old city, with it's own parkingarea. The room was rather small, but clean. We had a room, not facing the street, so it was silent. Good service at the reception. The breakfast is to expensive.

Room Tip: Go to the place Madelene, in the Corner, there is a Brasserie, where you can have le petit dejeuner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: 45 rue Faubourg Madeleine, 21200 Beaune, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of historic Burgundy, just a stone's throw from the center of epicurean Beaune. Hotel de la Paix offers you three star comfort and service. The Hotel is minutes from Beaune's tourist sights, notably the famous Hospice de Beaune, its magnificent cathedral Notre Dame and the many intimate cobbled streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Beaune
De La Paix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.