We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secure parking, central location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel au Grand Saint Jean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel au Grand Saint Jean to your Saves list
Hotel au Grand Saint Jean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, rue du Faubourg Madeleine, 21200 Beaune, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Beaune
Ribble Valley Lancashire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Secure parking, central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Use this hotel if you are passing through Beaune and need somewhere central to walk to the many restaurants in the evening. I would not recommend it if you are staying for longer and want a traditional French hotel. The room we had overlooked the car park which from the layout I would think most do. The room was small, basic but clean and was fine for 1 night. There is no restaurant for evening meals but the breakfast was very good value with lots of choice including meats, cheese, breads, jams, yogurts etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    97
    32
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
75
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very conveniently situated just outside the Beaune ring road, easy to find with its own secure car park. The rooms were quiet, beds soft and comfortable and the bathroom was modern. Some of the walls were at strange angles, but that just added to the character.
In the street there was a choice of Brasseries, bars and restaurants all within a stone's throw.
If you didn't take breakfast in the hotel itself, the brasserie opposite served coffee while you could eat your croissant purchased at the bakery across the road!

Room Tip: The roadside rooms could be noisy in the evenings, but closing the window kept out the noise while t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazerswoude Rijndijk, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

As we did the time before when we stayed in the Au Grand-Saint-Jean hotel, we met a very pleasant owner who treated us with a unusual, nice personal tough. We stayed 6 nights in a very pleasant, quiet room (15). The breakfast: let be honest: de croissants and baguettes are worth a detour! The hotel offers a guarded, safe, private parking and we have got the opportunity to park our bicycles inside the hotel: a very good service indeed. The hotel is situated in the centre of Beaune, close to a countless number of restaurants and wine bars. We can recommend Au Grand Saint-Jean for a one night overnight as well as for a longer stay. For us, Au Grand Saint-Jean is a place where we will come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel: it can be noisy till very late on the main street bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotels has defenitly had better days but the location and complementary parking makes it very combining location.

Not very attractive as a whole and the furniture is quite dated but been just 200 mts from the center of town can overcome many little negative details, as long as you are fully aware of these facts you will be perfectly happy.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here earlier this month as an overnight stop on our way to the south coast. Brilliant location, just seconds away from the centre of Beaune - an absolutely gorgeous town.
Hotel was superb for the money, friendly welcome and helpful staff along with secure parking.
Couldn't fault it at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

After having stayed at several hotels in Beaune we decided to give Hotel au Grand Saint Jean a try. We were happy we did. The location couldn't be any better, with restaurants, cafes and shops just moments away. There's a gated parking area behind the hotel and the triple room, including the bathroom, was spotlessly clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and, like the room, terrific value for the money. Staff very friendly. Would not hesitate to stay here again the next time we're in Beaune.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel au Grand Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel au Grand Saint Jean

Address: 18, rue du Faubourg Madeleine, 21200 Beaune, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel au Grand Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel au Grand Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Grand Saint Jean Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel au Grand Saint Jean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.