We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marche aux Vins

Marche aux Vins
7 rue de l'Hotel Dieu, 21200 Beaune, France
+33 3 80 25 08 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Attractions in Beaune
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of the city, in front of the Hospices de Beaune, the Marché aux Vins is located in the ancient Church of Cordelier.In the case of this unique architecture of the 15th century, come to discover, taste and buy a selection of wines from the greatest Burgundy. Côte de Nuits, Côte de Beaune, old vintages, wines from the Hospices de Beaune and Dijon, all the great names included in our selection.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fine for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

After visiting another larger, but more touristy cave, we enjoyed this one because the wines were actually good. The walk through the cellars is interesting, the age of the bottles impressive, and it makes for a good visit. There is no pressure to buy, and we liked the taped information "barrels" scattered through the tour to add some information and history. If you're a real expert, you probably be under-impressed, but for the bulk of visitors to Beaune, this suits just fine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    77
    42
    19
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overview of wines and caves, but you can do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have visited twice now, once recently with my wife. The wine tasting is entirely self-paced and a good introduction to Burgundy. But the quality of the wine was not as good as some other caves in town. Also this is clearly not a functioning winery, so the whole experience seems contrived and touristy. If you are visiting a number of wineries and caves, this might be a good first visit, since the others will probably be better. If you have only one cave to visit, I suggest Patriarche instead.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great fun, far better wines than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a great time wandering and tasting. We think the 15 Euro for 12-13 different wines was totally worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Central location. Nice cellar. Self-tasting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The cellar is really nice just opposite to Hospice of Beaune. You can take individual unguided visit and tasting "Degustation au Tastevin". The cost is 10 euro for 4 red wines and 4 white wines including a complimentary souvenir “tastevin”. This is a very exciting move in the cellars with wine barrels. There is no limit to the amount of wine consumed but you nothing discover about wine just to taste. Сompletely incomprehensible concept: tasting starts with the red wines so the taste of white wines is not clear.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Conveniently close to hotel de dieu but wines not too memorable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We opted for the 8 wine self guided tour. The tour meanders through the underground cellars, but truth be told, a good wine doesn't need to be camouflaged by the tour of the cave. We originally wanted to do the guided tour but our timing was a bit off as the sole guide was monopolized by a large tour group. Reds were rather unremarkable but whites were marred by lack of chilling. Tour give you either a souvenir wine glass or a stainless steel metal sippy cup to sample the wines.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marche aux Vins also viewed

 

Been to Marche aux Vins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marche aux Vins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.