We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at La Terre D’or … A Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terre D'or

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaune
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Terre D'or
Rue Izembart | La Montagne, 21200 Beaune, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 60 hotels in Beaune
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Staying at La Terre D’or … A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

To check in at La Terre D’or was really a treat. Locating on a hillside over an extensive stretch of vineyards, it captured the fantastic view of the City of Beaune. The main villa and the gardens around were pleasant and relaxing, which was much enhanced by Jurga’s sculptures casually placed in various locations inside the villa and outside in the gardens. The owner, Vincent, was most friendly, hospitable and informative. His advice was very helpful to our visit in Beaune. Having breakfast in the dining room by the fireplace was delightful where we could unwind and enjoy the nice and relaxing ambience of the villa. Having a Grotto under the villa was amazing, not to mention to enjoy a jacuzzi inside. Just the idea was enchanting. We spent 2 nights there, respectively in the cottage nearby and in the main villa. While both rooms were clean and nicely decorated, we preferred the latter cause it was much cozier. Having said that, staying at La Terre D’or was a wonderful experience and we will sure come back the next time we visit Beaune.

Rizan & Johnson Kwok
Hong Kong
30 September 2013

Room Tip: While we find it cozier to stay in the rooms in the main villa, the cottage nearby would provide mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Johnson, thank you for writing a review, we do apreciate. I'm happy you liked the place and I'll tell my wife that you still remember her sculptures. In 10 days time she is shipping quite a few bronze sculptures to galeries in Shangai, Taipei and Beijing. Who knows, maybe one day you will see her work at your place in Hong Kong! Wish the 2 of you all the very best on the occasion of the Chinese New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    24
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
109
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a wonderful 5-night stay at La Terre D’Or, from the impromptu welcoming wine tasting with Jean Louis (the owner), to the great Côte de Beaune wine tour with Vincent (owner and son of Jean Louis) to enjoying the hot tub with a bottle of Crémant de Bourgogne (Burgundy’s Champagne) in the amazing Grotto, and all the great dinner suggestions in Beaune. We appreciated Vincent’s extensive knowledge of the wines and the area.
The Guest House has a great atmosphere and is beautifully decorated. Our room, Le Chèvrefeuille, with its private terrace overlooking Beaune, was lovely as was the beautiful gardens (tended by Jean Louis’s wife), Jurga’s sculptures (created by Vincent’s talented wife), and the main outdoor terrace, also overlooking Beaune, where we had a wonderful breakfast in the morning and wine at the end of the day as well as many great conversations with other guests.
Vincent also gave us a spontaneous tour of the family’s upcoming new small vineyard and truffle farm that they were working on and a “to Die for” jar of the locally made raspberry jam.
Thank you for making us feel s at home at La Terre D’Or and thanks for all the attention to detail. A special thank you to Elodie for being so warm and welcoming!
The only criticism we have is that we didn’t stay longer! We hope to see you all again!
Merci Bien! À bientôt,
Dave & Jeannie
Vancouver, British Columbia, CANADA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Dave and Jenny,

It was a great pleasure to meet you, talk about wine and Vancouver. You are a lovely couple
and I did enjoy the tour with you in the vineyards. Thank you for your nice words that really help us much. All the best from us all: Vincent + Jean-Louis & Christine + Elodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband and I along with our daughter and her partner enjoyed a wonderful five day stay at La Terre d'Or in early September, 2013. We used La Terre d'Or as our "base" as we explored Burgundy by bike. Not only were our accommodations beautiful, they offered us a panoramic view of the vineyards and on really clear days, Mt. Blanc. It was a most relaxing place to stay after biking all day. The walk into Beaune was lovely and we regret that we didn't have time to sample more of the restaurants. Our host Vincent couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed talking with him and meeting his charming mother who takes such pride in her gardens for all of the guests to enjoy. We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, Bonnie. It's great to see you enjoyed your stay and your dailing biking tours in the vineyards. Hope to see you back this year maybe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Wife and I enjoyed four wonderful evenings at La Terre D'or in November 2013; one of the highlights of our three week holiday in France. Vincent and Jean-Louis showed us genuinely warm hospitality and enhanced our stay in Burgundy with their extensive local knowledge and recommendations.

La Terre D'or is located circa two kilometres from the centre of Beaune, easy enough to find if you have a GPS. It is a nice scenic walk into town through the vinyards, however the return journey is best via car/taxi due to the steepish hills (and plenty of wines under the belt...). Vincent organised taxis for us for evening meals which was easy and good value.

La Terre D'or is the former family home and is beautifully appointed throughout. We were fortunate to stay during the low season, so had the pick of the rooms. We stayed in the down stairs room adjacent to the dining/kitchen/entertaining area.The underground "cave"/grotto with jacuzzi is a fantastic, unique experience! The views over Beaune are beautiful in the early mornings. Breakfast was nice and featured local produce and preserves (jam amazing!).

Vincent and Jean-Louis take a genuine interest in your stay and were generous with their recommendations and time. We took a wine tour with Vincent; Vincent drove us and explained in detail the origins of the wine making industry in Beaune, the rating system, and took us to observe some of the world's most famous vinyards. Not that we could afford a bottle of Romanee-Conti! The tastings we were taken to ranged from grand cru wineries to local, smaller businesses where we got to taste wine direct from the oak barrel. Vincent also took us to a jam tasting that my wife Jane loved!

We will return to La Terre D'or as soon as time permits!

For those considering Burgundy, Beaune is a great holiday destination with a variety of options (wine tasting/great restaurants/history/relaxing!). La Terre D'or is a rare gem that will stay with you long after your stay - check out the compliments in the visitor guest book for further verification!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review, Ben & Jane, we do apreciate. We were so happy to welcome you on your honeymoon trip and really wanted to make it special for you. The vineyard tour was a great day also for me, I liked to go to some secret / remote places like the jam or some prestigious like Romanée Conti and Chateau du Clos Vougeot. Come back and I'll take you south this time ! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were here at the end of December 2013. This are the excellent accommodations with fantastic view to the city and amazing SPA in the Grotto. I recommend you to stay here if you are traveling in the Burgundy. We would be happy to come here again. We are grateful to the hotel owners for their warm welcome and organized wine degustation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear, thank you so much for your review. It was a real pleasure to welcome you and I did enjoy taking you to some welcoming small winemakers. It's good to enjoy Burgundy in winter, people have more time to spend with you, you can still have a jacuzzi, warm up with more winetastings or by the fireplace... I wish you all the very best for 2014 and I hope that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at La Terre d'or in September 2013. This establishment was a welcome relief after city stays in London and Paris. First, Vincent (owner's son) could not have been more welcoming to us when we arrived. The b&b is very warm and inviting and the grounds are lovely with lots of interesting art and flowers. We had one of the larger rooms on the 1st floor with a balcony. The room was very large, very clean, and the bathroom was great. I don't understand why breakfast (croissant and coffee) is extra at a b&b, but the price is not unreasonable for France. The walk into town is lovely as you pass the vineyards and it is downhill. Vincent took us for a wine tour and we learned a lot--even though we had been on wine tours in CA. We had an issue with our rental car and Elodie was so helpful to us! She made many phone calls on our behalf. The owner, Jean Louis, was very nice, too, very interesting to swap stories with. The terrace off of the kitchen is a lovely place to enjoy some wine and the lovely view. I would love to return for more wine touring in the area. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your nice words, we were so happy to meet you. It was great to see your enthusiasm about all that is related to wine, vineyards and winemakers! I loved to share a full day with you in the vineyards. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We loved our visit here. We reserved the White Orchid room. It felt secluded and had it's own little patio sitting area in the garden. Perfectly appointed and latest in bath facilities. We were not disappointed. The room temperature was kept very comfortable. Thermostat worked very well for warm afternoons but cool mornings. Gardens were beautiful and organic. Maintained by the owner's wife. The grotto actually an underground cave where they have installed lighting and a Jacuzzi (well lit). So make a reservation to indulge in this. Vincent is the adult son of the owners and manages this lovely property. We felt like we were in another world in the middle of the vineyards. Yet a 5 minute drive down into the ancient town of Beaune.

Room Tip: The White Orchid
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LATERREDOR, Propriétaire at La Terre D'or, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you! I'm happy you enjoyed the place so much: gardens full of flowers, vineyards, pine forest just up, the best Beaune vineyards 50 meters down the house...it's the place I grew up, it was the family home and I love to share it with our guests. Hope to see you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Terre D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terre D'or

Address: Rue Izembart | La Montagne, 21200 Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
#5 Family Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Terre d’Or is ideally situated on the hill overlooking Beaune, above the vineyards: you will enjoy unforgettable views.Vincent and Jean-Louis welcome you in a contemporary, luminous and warm guesthouse: 5 charming bedrooms with bathrooms + AC + wifi, a large living room with a fireplace, a sitting room with a piano, a large terrace, a swimming pool and a very surprising grotto with a jacuzzi! Also, 2 self-catering cottages: Les Pins & Les Lilas ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Terre d`Or Hotel Beaune
Hotel La Terre d Or

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terre D'or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Terre D'or to your Saves list