We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical retreat in the heart of Burgundy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terre D'or

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaune
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Terre D'or
Rue Izembart | La Montagne, 21200 Beaune, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 60 hotels in Beaune
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A magical retreat in the heart of Burgundy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family (including two boys ages 13 and 10) and I just returned from a five night stay at La Terre D'Or, and we had such a wonderful time that I haven't stopped thinking about it. We were there the second week of July. Nestled on a hillside above Beaune, in the heart of the Burgundy region, La Terre D'Or is a renovated country farm house and grounds, owned and run by Jean-Louis and his son Vincent. There is a main house and a second smaller house on the property. The main house has been completely redone in a beautiful, somewhat contemporary fashion, and the smaller house has more of a French country appeal. Both offer spacious accomodations with very comfortable furniture and bedding, great bathrooms (with large showers, excellent water pressure, and washcloths!) great bedding and towels, large robes and air conditioning. A shady patio outside the main house offers amazing views of Beaune and and the valley below, with vineyards as far as the eye can see. A breakfast of croissants, fruit, jellys, meats, juice and coffee is served here in the morning if you desire.

The grounds of La Terre D'Or are absolutely beautiful...a riot of flowers, shade trees and fruit trees, with butterflys fluttering throughout. Whimsical touches abound. Vincent's wife is an artist, and her sculptures of children and fairies are scattered about in a charming way. A swimming pool offers wonderful refreshment after hiking or walking through Beaune.

Probably the most amazing feature is a large cave that is on the property underneath the house and yard. This was excavated by Jean-Louis and Vincent and has been fitted with halogen lighting and paved areas on which to walk. There is a hot tub and small waterfall! This area functions as a wine cellar and reception area....we were attending a wedding, and part of the reception was held in the cave.

Without a doubt, however, the best feature of La Terre D'Or is Jean-Louis and his son Vincent. They both speak English quite well, and are lovely people...warm, friendly and welcoming. They assist with reservations, transportation to Beaune and other villages, activities, tours...or they will glady just sit and chat with you while you enjoy a bottle of pinot noir. Jean-Louis has lived here for years, and knows everybody. His knowledge of the region and wine making is encyclopedic, and I loved listening to him explain the history of Burgundy.

There's no doubt that this is a special place. Not inexpensive, to be sure, but I felt it was fully worth the cost, and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    24
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
109
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

After a long travel day our room, which is featured in the pictures, was better than we expected. Jean Louis was more than hospitable, he treated us like his favorite relatives. The room was spotless, comfortable, and quiet. The courtyard was private and charming, as were the rest of the grounds. Breakfast was simple, fresh, and delicious. The view was beautiful overlooking Beaune. We had a car, so it was worth the 2 minute drive out of town for the tranquility of the property. Very romantic. Jean Louis gave us a good recommendation on a self guided wine tour route & dinner reservations. (Best Boeuf Bourguignon I've ever had). Wonderful 2 night stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What makes a place truly special? La Terre d'Or has it all. To start Jean-Louis and Vincent are wonderful people; the four of us wished we could spend personal time with them. And their hospitality is outstanding. Their knowledge of the area is excellent. I have been studying wine for quite some time; Jean-Louis knows Burgundy - it was a pleasure to learn from him. Vincent was so interesting to talk to and his concern for your comfort was fantastic.The grounds are beautiful and the location is perfect - remote and close at the same time. We immediately wished we were staying twice as long. I will recommend it to all my friends and family. And as soon as we return to France, we will find a way to return here - for a longer stay. I hope you put it at the top of your list.

Room Tip: The four of us stayed in the lovely Le Pin and it was perfect for us - roomy, quiet, and our own pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This small hotel / B&B is quite a unique and special place. Looking down on Beaune from a surrounding hillside, it is a fantastic place to soak in sun and views, and just relax when you're not out visiting the local restaurants and wineries.

The team of Jean-Louis, Vincent, and Elodie are absolutely brilliant. Nothing is too much trouble and recommendations for restaurants, vineyards to visit, and anything else is no problem.

Absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: The cottage nearer the main house is where we stayed and is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

From booking to leaving, Vincent and Jean Louis were a pleasure. It is obvious that your happiness and satisfaction is their main concern. Upon arrival, Vincent greeted us warmly and made dinner reservations for us promptly. His recommendations were always great... his pride in the area, its wine and restaurants was clear and well deserved. Vincent also gave us great advice on places to visit during the day. A large part of our love for Beaune is a result of the great care we were given at La Terre D'Or. We are already anxious to return to the great region and beautiful bed and breakfast!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have stayed here preciously and was so happy I had to go back- this time I brought my mum. The hotel is perfectly situated above the main town of Beaune (a car is needed) about a 15 minute walk into the main square.

The rooms are clean, neat and have a truly French country feel. The gardens that you can sit in are beautiful with status and flowers everywhere.

Vincent and his father are the perfect hosts and are happy to provide recommendations of where to visit and eat.

This place is definitely suited to those wanting a private escape to the French countryside where some of the best food and wine can be enjoyed!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the main house for 3 nights and absolutely loved every minute of our stay! From the first minute we walked in, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The staff personalised a wine tour for us around Burgundy, with the lunch recommendation simply faultless. Dinner recommendations in beaune were also spot on with local taxi driver walking us into the restaurant and advising we didn't speak French and to look after us as we were staying at la terre d'or. Spa in the grotto was a highlight and the view from our room over the city of beaune was magnificent. We will definitely be returning to beaune and la terre d'or. We have already made recommendations to our friends!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Terre D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terre D'or

Address: Rue Izembart | La Montagne, 21200 Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
#5 Family Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Terre d’Or is ideally situated on the hill overlooking Beaune, above the vineyards: you will enjoy unforgettable views.Vincent and Jean-Louis welcome you in a contemporary, luminous and warm guesthouse: 5 charming bedrooms with bathrooms + AC + wifi, a large living room with a fireplace, a sitting room with a piano, a large terrace, a swimming pool and a very surprising grotto with a jacuzzi! Also, 2 self-catering cottages: Les Pins & Les Lilas ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Terre d`Or Hotel Beaune
Hotel La Terre d Or

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terre D'or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Terre D'or to your Saves list