We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to stay in Beaune” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Poste

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Poste to your Saves list
Hotel de la Poste
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Boulevard Clemenceau, 21200 Beaune, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Beaune
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Place to stay in Beaune”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is an excellent establishment, with the best service we have ever experienced at any hotel, anywhere. We spent three nights here in May 2012. The room was large, clean, and very comfortable. The bedding was excellent. The air conditioning worked very well. The restauarant at this hotel is very good. But what really sets this place apart is their service, particularly the people at the front desk. The car park, which we only used one night, was spacious ! and secure. From the hotel you can walk almost anywhere in the old city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    129
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
49
181
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Just outside the old city walls, within walking distance of everything, top notch location. Lovely rooms, and very quaint elevator that we only used checking in/out for luggage (it was very slow much faster to walk up to our third floor room). We just got the basic room (chambre charme) but it was great, good size with a nice view of the old city, and quite inexpensive considering it was busy for les Grands Jours de Bourgogne. The service was superb, from check-in with info provided to access the free wi-fi internet, to check-out allowing us to leave our luggage for the day at no charge, and afterwards (I forgot some sizable items in the room on checkout which they sent to me in Canada, with only a nominal charge to cover postage).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Since I have a back problem and my wife has knee problems, a elevator or lift was a must for our stay. The hotel indicated it had a lift so I booked a "superior/luxe" room at a hefty price for ths four star hotel. We were warmly welcomed and the clerk started to showvusvto our "upgraded" room. We had to climb some unwelcomed steps to get into the elevator. It stopped at the 2nd floor and then we were told we had to climb the next two floors to get to the room. We declined to do so, whereupon we were then taken to another room via the lift to the fourth floor. Suffering from the long flight from the USA, we accepted the some strange room. No wall decorations except for the nice tv. My wife asked for an extra luggage rack for our suitcases and where told it could not be done per hotel policy. Rather odd for a four star. Then we found that the toilet room was barely big enough to keep your knees fro hitting the wall. The room had ONE two foot square window. The nightstands had two lamps without bulbs. We were given two but only one of the lamps had a shade. We requested another one but then found out after dinner tha they took away the first. We complained about that but nothing was done. We had to get hand delivery for their WIFI pass code which turned out not to work. We did receive good ice cube service and the staff made restaurant reservations for us. All in all a hugely disappointing experience. Also, no replacement of soaps or towels or even the plastic cups.

Room Tip: Look at it in fine detail. Parking is good bout costs 12 euros per night extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFMARTINET, Directeur général at Hotel de la Poste, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear Madame, Dear Monsieur,

We thank you for your comments which always help us to improve our quality service
We wanted to “pleased you” and upgrade you into a “Junior Suite” but we did not know, at this time, that you had some problems. When you requested another room, we changed immediately to a room with the lift. As I said previously, our first think was to give you a free upgrade.
The second room has just been refurbished with marble and high quality products and we choose to have more space in the room rather than in the toilet. We do apologies for the lamp and the luggage rack problems : it is our mistakes and it won’t happen again.
Our Group “Najeti” is trying to “protect the nature” as we can and we do not wash the towels everyday: a note in the bathroom explain how it works :
- “Towels on the floor or in the basket : please change towels” or “Towels on the rack : I’m still using them”

Please, Madame, Monsieur, accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and be sure that everything will be perfect next time.
We remain at your disposal
Best regards

Jean François MARTINET
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Had booked their "Escapade Beaunoise" which includes a luxury room, parking, welcome drink (real champagne), 3 course dinner and their great breakfast buffet. Also includes a tour of one of the wine houses, but skipped that as we where only there on a srayover to break the trip back from the Alps. Room was spacious and only thing we missed was a lovely duvet instead of these out of date blankets. Dinner was really super, presentation of food top notch and staff ver attentive and friendly. Parking in a safe garage a plus when you have the car full of skis and stuff. In general all staff was really friendly and keen and clearly were proud of their product. The package at +/- 190 Euros is really great value for this level of product and services. We had listened to other comment about a room towards the back. If you as we do like to have your window open at night, this is a must as the hotel front the small ring around the old city, so can imagine could be noisy unless you like an early start anyway.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow Middlesex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here on New Year's Eve Dec 2011 on the way back from a week's skiing in the Alps. We stayed in the full suite at the top of the building. The hotel is beautifully converted and must be 2-300 years old.
The staff were friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant which was a special gastonomique menu & was extravagantly expensive but as it was NYE we didn't mind & enjoyed the experience.
Breakfast was great the next day too.
Our suite was huge, two large double beds, a desk, antique writing desk and wardrobes.
The bathroom was sumptuous with robes and slippers and complementary toilettries.
We didn't get chance to explore Baune this time but it looked interesting & attractive& somewhere I'd like to return to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed one night with their Beaune escapade option, which includes half board and a deluxe room as well as covered parking at a very reasonable price. In order, all of it was excellent. A very comfortable room, a well-appointed bathroom, an excellent set-menu dinner where the staff was nevertheless happy to substitute items when we couldn't have some of the courses, and a good breakfast - and the IHT alongside the French newspapers, not always a given in hotels across France. The staff were equally excellent, both at reception and in the restaurant. Definitely a hotel to recommend and one we shall return to.

There is a bistro in the back of the hotel which seems to serve the same food as the restaurant. We did not try it, but it has views of the courtyard and would be a very good alternative when the weather is nice.

Make sure to ask for a room away from the main road - ours was facing the courtyard so despite the proximity to the main road, we had a very quiet night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

what a beautiful place. it is quaint, cozy, and the staff are very personable. I came here withmy family a few years ago. The rooms range from different sizes, but I think Americans forget that the standards are different in Europe and you cannot expect the same services, such as continental breakfast, for free, etc, big rooms, in old Europe. I loved the courtyard most, and the surrounding Beaune city center is just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Poste

Address: 5 Boulevard Clemenceau, 21200 Beaune, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
#8 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Poste 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former XVII century post house has 36 bedrooms, including 3 suites overlooking an interior garden or the old Beaune town ramparts.Its warm welcome and cosseted atmosphere make this magnificent hotel, situated right in the heart of the historical city of Beaune, a genuinely exceptional venue.At lunch time, you will be entranced by the cuisine offered in "Le Bistro" with its warm and friendly atmosphere and it shady terrace.For dinner, "Le Relais" restaurant will welcome you to discover its noble gastronomic cuisine brimming with subtle flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Poste Hotel
De La Poste Beaune

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.