We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A French "Rondavel"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Challanges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Challanges to your Saves list
Chateau de Challanges
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Templiers, 21200 Beaune, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Beaune
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A French "Rondavel"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Highly recommended as a stopover especially if you are driving to south of France as its a good half-way point. We booked a family or quad room which turns out not to be in the main Chateau instead they are in the garden looking onto the pool and what in South Africa we would call a "Rondavel" (A rondavel is a westernised version of the African-style hut. The rondavel is usually round or oval in shape) Beautifully done, with fab finishes, well equipped, a huge bath, comfortable beds and great linen ... but you dont really feel part of the chàteau. I would definately recommend this option though if you have young children as I'm sure they would love the freedom of being able to explore/play in the garden. A breakfast hamper is discreetly served in the room - Personally I would have preferred to have been given the option of having breakfast in the breakfast room.
We took a stroll around the village which is rural and delightful with such friendly people.
A big plus are the fantastic restaurants close by. We were recommended to a 'family style' one that had a roaring fireplace and outstanding food - in hindsight probably one of our best meals in France!

Room Tip: If you have young children then choose the "garden" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    64
    18
    10
    9
See reviews for
33
116
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a beautiful setting just outside the main town of Beaune. The staff were very nice, spoke good english and provided maps and suggestions for restaurants and activities. We stayed in the room facing the pool and much preferred the privacy to staying in the main house. Although I don't have first-hand knowledge of the rooms or noise in the main house. The room is very nice, plenty spacious, with a bit of a step down to the bathroom area. There was a problem with the shower door and it leaked extensively on the floor. There was a little table and chairs outside that we could have used, but didn't have the time. It was about a 5 minute drive to the town of Beaune, so not far to hop out to go to dinner. Overall, it was a very nice place to stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband had a very good room during his 1st visit. However this time round we had a small room on the 2nd floor of the main building. The room was renovated. But the bath room were clean but do need more cleaning attention.

The high light was the service, the young reception lady was very friendly and helpful and most of all the chef for breakfast was really nice ! The breakfast was good and especially the Croissants and bread were very good.

This chateau has a huge beautiful lawn, perhaps it is close to 4 stars but I don't think it is a 4 starts hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very easy to find and only 5 minutes from the motorway we found this chateau a hidden gem perfect for very comfortable bed and gorgeous breakfast.
We stayed in their very beautiful wooden outbuildings which felt very romantic (even though we had our three young children with us) The accommodation was very comfortable with great electric blinds and very well equipped bathroom with excellent shower and large separate jacuzzi bath.Our wooden chalet had a view of the chateau where we had breakfast and the outdoor pool
.
After a fantastic night sleep we had a really fabulous French breakfast in the main building which is under a 20 m walk from door to door . A great place to break our joinery or indeed to spend a few days looking at the region.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Chateau de Challanges for two nights. The domain on which it is located is nice. They also have a nice bar area even though it was deserted at any point in time. A big disappointment were the rooms: they were not that big but what was really cramp were the bathrooms. The rooms only had one small window and the rooms smelled very badly. One of our rooms had the ugliest decoration ever with the walls and ceiling all in orange. There are no dinner options in the hotel. Breakfast is simple but OK. The staff was friendly. All in all we would not stay here again when visiting Beaune.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Arrived at the Chateau de Challenges as a stop off from Switzerland to Paris. First off whilst driving along the street to the hotel the area appears quite run down and the car park to the hotel didnt appear to have any security so we where already concerned about the security of our car. On arrivial we where hoping to get something to eat then rest for the day however the hotel only serves breakfast and we where advised to travel 3km into town to find food. The final straw was when we where accommodated in what appeared to be a converted garage next to the main house with double doors on to the hotels garden, whilst walking out on to the patio one of the stones lifted up and hurt my wife. We stayed all of 5 minutes before making the decision to leave as this is clearly not a 4* hotel but charging 4* rates. We asked for a refund but where told this was not possible as we had already booked despite our complaints. After reading the other negative reviews of this hotel we are inclined to agree. After staying in over 12 hotels during our road trip this is the only one we have had a problem with - avoid.

Room Tip: No resteraunt or food facilities other than breakfast, no Gym, no other facilities other than you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in their small rooms located on the second floor of the chateau. The room was not large, but comfortable. Though they offered breakfast and a pleasant small bar, the chateau did not have a restaurant. There were plenty of nice places to dine in Beaune, 5 minutes away, however. Best of all, the price for the room was less than 110 euros for the night... A fair price to stay in a real chateau. Please note that the room was accessed after two fights of stairs, and that there was no elevator... A good room at a very good price, in a charming atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Challanges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Challanges

Address: Rue Templiers, 21200 Beaune, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Cote d'Or > Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Beaune
#17 Romantic Hotel in Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Challanges 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Chateau de Challanges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Challanges Beaune
Chateau De Challanges Hotel Beaune

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Challanges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.