We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, and large, meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cheval Noir

Le Cheval Noir
17 bd St Jacques, 21200 Beaune, France
03.80.22.07.37
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 150 restaurants in Beaune
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ventura, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, and large, meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We ordered the prix fixe meal, but instead of getting the 3 courses we ordered, we got 7. In addition to the meal, we received an amuse bouche, 2 extra small bites between courses, and an extra small dessert. All of the food was incredible, the service was excellent, and the clientele was varied. We had a fantastic experience here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    103
    75
    15
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our hotel (Belle Epoque) recommended this restaurant and called for reservations. We had a wonderful meal! We sat on the side deck as it was a lovely night and all our food was outstanding, service was attentive without being overbearing. We would be happy to go back if we find ourselves in Beaune again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stopped for lunch at this restaurant after having read the trip advisor reviews. It was really great, everyone was very polite and we enjoyed it a lot.

The only reason I do not rank it as excellent is because of the escargots that we got as an appetizer. They tasted weird, not at all the great taste we had in other restaurants. But the main course, which was the steak as well as the deserts were fantastic.

And Beaune is a great town to visit so make sure you stop by!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great meal on our last day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate there on our last day in France and were very pleased with the meal. Everything was delicious and prepared very well, except for the snails, which I did not like very much. They also provided several small plates with "snacks" and complimentary deserts. Overall it was a very nice experience and I suggest eating there if you're passing by Beaune.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service, relaxed environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Wonderful meal on the last day of our holiday in France. The set meal proved a great choice and the service was exemplary. The whole evening was special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cheval Noir also viewed

 

Been to Le Cheval Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cheval Noir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.