We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining at a Fair Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cheval Noir

Le Cheval Noir
17 bd St Jacques, 21200 Beaune, France
03.80.22.07.37
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 152 Restaurants in Beaune
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at a Fair Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Four of us dined at the Cheval Noir, and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The six course prix fix menu was flavorful, well balanced and creatively prepared. The restaurant's decor is modern, yet the ambiance was well matched with the presenation of the food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    94
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great, but not life changing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Truth is we waited too long to make a reso at our first 7 choices (fully booked) and then booked here.

Nice clean look, great service and well presented food. Everyone liked their meals a lot. My foie gras was delicious as was the Gambas dish. My cheeses were better than my profiterole dessert.

Service was very genuine and attentive. Overall a good experience. Would try other restaurants before going back however.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The rather ordinary exterior belies the modern updated interior.
Food very well prepared and presented and a full wine list.Very busy so best to book.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely food and experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clever presentation of good food in a modern, light filled restaurant. The prawn dish was great, and desserts were fabulous.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welshpool
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good Quality Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had the 69 euro menu which also included a small glass of wine with 4 of the 5 courses. We particularly enjoyed the fish course of turbot and gambass in lovely creamy sauce and also the duck breast and confit. The accompanying wine were of average quality but for the money what can you expect. The service was excellent and the head waiter particularly friendly and efficient. By no means the best in Beaune . That we think goes to Loiseau des Vignes or Jardin des Remparts, but in terms of value for money it is the winner.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cheval Noir also viewed

 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 

Been to Le Cheval Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cheval Noir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.